Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
02-12-2010, 12:08 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwistedComplex
I have XP SP1
Enjoy living life dangerously...? They're up to SP3.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
02-12-2010, 01:08 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Carter
you dont have a firewall?

well you are smart
I have a firewall, i just don't have it on, genius
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
02-12-2010, 01:12 AM
/forward 1 didn't work
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
02-12-2010, 02:43 AM
The minimum specs. for the game list SP2 as a requirement. Perhaps you should think about finally installing it. FYI, many newer games now require SP3 too.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
02-12-2010, 03:50 AM
Does state min spec -OS: Windows® XP SP2 / Windows Vista® / Windows® 7 (32 or 64 bit)

you might want to update your SP1 to SP3
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
02-12-2010, 04:26 AM
allthough the requirements say XP SP2 i would recommend installing SP3 and running a full windows update

you should at least insall SP2 if you can find it and windows update, there have been a lot of updates to XP even between sp1 and sp2 any one of these updates could be causing an issue with how STO works. there have been several changes to how XP handles network traffic

even if you install and say well that was a waste of time youll still be one step closer to finding a solution

youve alraedy said you cant move forward or back but can you make your toon turn on the spot or move sideways?

youve also said youve not got a virus but have you scanned for malware and spyware.some spyware and malware can also have unpredictible effects on your pc try running your usual spyware tools and try running malware bytes antimal ware
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
02-12-2010, 05:58 AM
As has been said already... [astonishment+lol] You have xp, you only have SP1, you dont run a firewall, I can't even begin to imagine what else you are doing to cause yourself problems.... and you wonder why there is a problem.. [/astonishment+lol]

Besides that, what about pressing both mouse buttons at once? or pressing R, that should make you autorun. Other than that, no idea. Stop living in the past re: updates.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
02-12-2010, 06:13 AM
Yup your should keep your PC up to date. but i had this same issue, I have a Logitech G15 keyboard. its fine with other games but STO I couldn't walk/ run/ whatever with my char, i updated the drivers from Logitech's website, and i haven't had the issue since.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
02-12-2010, 06:45 AM
Try using Left/Right Mouse button at the same time. Holding both down will make your character run forward. Also, in Keybinds, there should be an auto-run toggle (which actually might be what /forward 1 sets), you could try that to see if Auto-run will work. It's pretty strange that roll will work but not run.

OP is probably running SP1 because he's not using a valid copy of Win XP. There is no other reason to use anything less than SP2 on an internet connected device.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
02-12-2010, 07:40 AM
post your system specs

also you should be able to move forward with both mouse buttons held down.

but i suspect we will see the problem when you post your system specs.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:55 PM.