Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Beams versus Canons
02-12-2010, 05:57 AM
Spok, I think we have serious problem with these two. Canons suppose give mode DPS in trade of I must postition my ship in 45 degree arc.

In fact due to game mechanic is not anymore true, no matter of what.

Beams have no global CD so no matter what other beams do beam with ended recharge can be fired. So there could be ships with all beams with no restriction when fire except Weapon Power.

Canon have big issue when are fully mounted. They can't be mounted aft (that really make no sence). Due to shared global CD they can't be fired at once. Actual recharge on Dual Heavy is 2 seconds That mean no more than 2 Dual Heavy on ship, third canon will never fire.

I was user of canons and I did like a lot of fight with them. I don't like to fly around enemy like fly in circles. So I had really good weapons and I did invest a lot of SP in canon skills. When i did hover over my guns on UI it show me around 1000+ DPS per gun.

I had feel I should do more DMG. People around me in same ships did outdamaged me so went on guard and did some test.

After my captain promotion I did buy for my new ship full Dual Plasma Beam Banks VI with my exploration badges. I did use Dual Heavy Plasma Canons before. I had load 3 canons + 2 plasma torpedo. I had consoles for boosting plasma damage. With my new setup my jaws simply did drop. Even without my skill points invested into beams I far outdamaged my previsou setup. My Dual Plasma Beams show just 328 DPS which is 1/3 of my canons, but I shred any ship in few seconds. Simply can't do same with canons no matter of what.

There is something terribly wrong in Canons. I didn't change my tactic, I have nearly no skill points invested in my beams except rank 1 skill points. Same ship, same tactics, even I have on my ship when I load beams switched to power preset shields and I outdamage my canon setup with power preset attack by factor 3 I guess.

Now I understand why all around me flying with beams. Devs pls remove canons from game at least that will not confuse people.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-12-2010, 06:00 AM
lol i saw your signature.. name ripper!!!

Anyway, I prefer beams due to the fact that i got a certan engeneering device that can up the dmg on beams so i can continually fire alot of power in one go. Cannons are only used for escorts
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-12-2010, 06:01 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.R.O.
Spok, I think we have serious problem with these two. Canons suppose give mode DPS in trade of I must postition my ship in 45 degree arc.

In fact due to game mechanic is not anymore true, no matter of what.

Beams have no global CD so no matter what other beams do beam with ended recharge can be fired. So there could be ships with all beams with no restriction when fire except Weapon Power.

Canon have big issue when are fully mounted. They can't be mounted aft (that really make no sence). Due to shared global CD they can't be fired at once. Actual recharge on Dual Heavy is 2 seconds That mean no more than 2 Dual Heavy on ship, third canon will never fire.

I was user of canons and I did like a lot of fight with them. I don't like to fly around enemy like fly in circles. So I had really good weapons and I did invest a lot of SP in canon skills. When i did hover over my guns on UI it show me around 1000+ DPS per gun.

I had feel I should do more DMG. People around me in same ships did outdamaged me so went on guard and did some test.

I just wen out after my captain promotion and buy for my new ship full Dual plasma beam banks VI. I did use Dual Heavy Plasma Canons. I had load 3 canons + 2 plasma torpedo. I had consoles for boosting plasma damage. My jaws simply did drop. Even without my skill points invested into beams I far outdamaged my previsou setup. Even my Dual Plasma Beams show just 328 DPS which is 1/3 of my canons, I shred any ship in few seconds. Simply can't do same with canons no matter of what.

There is something terribly wrong in Canons. I didn't change my tactic, I have nearly no skill points invested in my beams except rank 1 skill points. Same ship, same tactics, even I have on my ship when I load beams switched to power preset shields and I outdamage my canon setup with power preset attack by factor 3 I guess.

Now I understand why all around me flying with beams. Devs pls remove canons from game at least that will not confuse people.
Your not using the Cannons properly, For one thing until you get to less than 5km You won't get the 1000dps that you want, When you hit 5km Cannons are second to none.

Then also remember cannon Rapid fire which obliterates anything in seconds.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-12-2010, 06:03 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by AelitaStones View Post
lol i saw your signature.. name ripper!!!

Anyway, I prefer beams due to the fact that i got a certan engeneering device that can up the dmg on beams so i can continually fire alot of power in one go. Cannons are only used for escorts
I fly escort and I can tell you as canon are now, no way you should use them. As they are now they are completely useless, not even mount one on ship (waste of consoles to boost damage).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-12-2010, 06:05 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acidpunk View Post
Your not using the Cannons properly, For one thing until you get to less than 5km You won't get the 1000dps that you want, When you hit 5km Cannons are second to none.

Then also remember cannon Rapid fire which obliterates anything in seconds.
I do use them at close range. I state it I like to go in close range not fly like flies around ships but trust me it doesn't work. I mounted dual banks and doing same tactics as before and enemy battleships goes down even they couldn't hurt me (before my jam sensor wear off).

And rapid fire won't help. I have BO who has rapid fire I and rapid fire II. You can use rapid fire every 15 seconds (30 seconds CD on tier I and 30 seconds on tier II rapid fire). I really did invest a lot effort in cannons. BTW canons now share GCD with turrets, so everyone who mount canons can't use turets. That change was introduced two patches ago.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-12-2010, 06:06 AM
I use Science vessels, For them beams litrally are everything, They turn off weapon systems, shields, aux, ect. It depends on the ship you have to the tactic you use
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-12-2010, 06:09 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by AelitaStones View Post
I use Science vessels, For them beams litrally are everything, They turn off weapon systems, shields, aux, ect. It depends on the ship you have to the tactic you use
Because of you using only beams doesn't mean that canons could be so underpowered now. If yes then they should go "where no one boldly go".
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-12-2010, 06:11 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by AelitaStones View Post
lol i saw your signature.. name ripper!!!

Anyway, I prefer beams due to the fact that i got a certan engeneering device that can up the dmg on beams so i can continually fire alot of power in one go. Cannons are only used for escorts
No I don't steal . In game my name is Aelita and I'm using that name since I play Earth And Beyond. I had Aelita on Pegasus galaxy as Terran Trader since 2001 (in beta).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-12-2010, 06:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by D.R.O.
I do use them at close range. I state it I like to go in close range not fly like flies around ships but trust me it doesn't work. I mounted dual banks and doing same tactics as before and enemy battleships goes down even they couldn't hurt me (before my jam sensor wear off).

And rapid fire won't help. I have BO who has rapid fire I and rapid fire II. You can use rapid fire every 15 seconds (30 seconds CD on tier I and 30 seconds on tier II rapid fire). I really did invest a lot effort in cannons. BTW canons now share GCD with turrets, so everyone who mount canons can't use turets. That change was introduced two patches ago.
I have Cannon Rapid fire III, dont be silly.

From my experience they work perfectly, at some point today I'll record something with FRAPs like a patrol mission where I fight the enemy in my Defiant with Cannons
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-12-2010, 06:43 AM
Yes please do it. Anyway you did say it self. You must go and load them so you don't using canons on your ship as primary load out, then it must be somthing better right?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:42 AM.