Lt. Commander
# 1 A question for MMO veterans.
02-12-2010, 03:04 PM
I'm not trying to slam anyone for posting their opinion on the game.

Ok, with that out of the way, the only other MMO I've played is Guild Wars, and I started playing a little less than a year after beta. This is my first MMO I've been in from beta, so my question to all you beta MMO veterans is this:

Is this level of whining, crying, yelling, threatening to quit, etc... normal for the beginning of a MMO?

I have no problem with posting your opinion, and I realize the more you like something, the more agressive you will be when you think something might be ruining what you care about. Honestly though, I'm sure I'd find more positivity at a pessimist convention.

These threads contain so much negativity. So I'm just wondering if this is normal, and if things will calm down 6 - 9 - 12 months into the game?
Lt. Commander
# 2
02-12-2010, 03:08 PM
Yes it is. In fact, it's normal for an MMO's entire lifecycle.

What I learned from my days of being a WoW subscriber (and that's a lot of days), is that you shouldn't consider the forums to be representative of the subscriber base as a whole. People who are enjoying themselves don't really have any reason to visit the forums; by and large, they're too busy playing the game. Therefore one should expect the forums to have a natural negative slant.
Lt. Commander
# 3
02-12-2010, 03:10 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenEricII

Ok, with that out of the way, the only other MMO I've played is Guild Wars, and I started playing a little less than a year after beta. This is my first MMO I've been in from beta, so my question to all you beta MMO veterans is this:

Is this level of whining, crying, yelling, threatening to quit, etc... normal for the beginning of a MMO?