Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
02-14-2010, 03:38 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Juan_586
So I was so happy to reach commander and get a shiny new Akira class escort. Tried to change the name from the standard 'Olympia", but didn't work. I thought nothing of it and when i beamed out of the starbase decided to try again. This time I hit the random button and saved and what do you know it changed.... to the U.S.S. Palm! Great. Now, when I try to change it, the darn thing is greyed out. I also see that my tier 2 ship's name is greyed out. So am I to understand that I am stuck as the captain of the U.S.S. Palm?
Hey it could have been worse. I knew this gal once with a last name of Morehead. (<---I swear to god i'm not making that up!) Your ship could be named that.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
02-14-2010, 03:59 AM
I bought a ship that had the random name of USS Latvia. I wondered if Dr. Doom was going to b be the Captain........
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
02-14-2010, 04:02 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by nemo813 View Post
I bought a ship that had the random name of USS Latvia. I wondered if Dr. Doom was going to b be the Captain........
That would be Latveria.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
02-14-2010, 04:09 AM
i am the captain of the USS Katie. i just didnt change the name yet. any suggestions would be welcome.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
02-14-2010, 04:20 AM
you got lucky. No offense to the french, but at first i got the U.S.S. France. Do they expect me to solve all my problems by surrendering!! Once again, no offense to the French, you have great food, commonly in the form of fried potato slices, and architecture. Fortunately, i had 1500 Starfleet Merits so i could change its name. When i changed it's name to the U.S.S. Carniciera, i had 50 merits left. They need to make the cost of changing ship name and registry, or at least just the name, to 0
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
02-14-2010, 04:26 AM
I got the USS Wrath as the name of my T3 Escort, which I thought was highly appropriate.

That is until, in the very first action in my new ship, I found myself teamed with... the USS Wrath.

And like the OP, the ability to change the name is grayed out.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
02-14-2010, 04:29 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don_Juan_586
Now, when I try to change it, the darn thing is greyed out. I also see that my tier 2 ship's name is greyed out. So am I to understand that I am stuck as the captain of the U.S.S. Palm?
Not enough merits to pay the renaming?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
02-14-2010, 04:36 AM
You could be flying the USS iPod. That could be interesting.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
02-14-2010, 12:02 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by hivewasp View Post
Not enough merits to pay the renaming?
Ya know you are actually right on this one.... but it would be nice for the game to let you know. Here's what I've found out:

-Change ship name is 3,000 merits
-Registry number is 1,500 merits
-Yes, both are 4,500 merits (seems way too much, merits are kinda hard to come by and i have 160k credits...)
-Also, when I was originally naming the ship, I think I hit a character limit (would've been nice to know... warning message etc.) so I kept trying to name my ship "Tiger's Claw III" and it wouldn't work. So when the box ungreyed and I was able to try it still wouldn't accept it, but it would accept "Tiger's Claw C".... so a 14 or 15 character limit I'm guessing?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
02-14-2010, 12:05 PM
The fact that its greyed out is a bug. You can actually still type in that box. It's been that way since beta.Just click in the box and type some letters, and you'll see what I mean.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46 PM.