Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I was wondering what folder I burn onto a disk for a setup file so I can test it on another machine? Thanks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-15-2010, 02:34 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by CptSparrow
I was wondering what folder I burn onto a disk for a setup file so I can test it on another machine? Thanks.
I am thinking the setup is too big for a normal DvD... you are probably going to need Blu-ray to keep it on one disk.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-15-2010, 02:36 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seljek View Post
I am thinking the setup is too big for a normal DvD... you are probably going to need Blu-ray to keep it on one disk.
um the retail ships on 1 disc... if you can get that on one disc then you should be able to get the digital download on one disc...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-15-2010, 02:39 PM
ok, but what folder? I know STO installed in the gaming folder like WoW and some other games....but that's after its installed so I'm just wondering what folder I put on a DVD for it to run setup..?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-15-2010, 02:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tkmaster View Post
um the retail ships on 1 disc... if you can get that on one disc then you should be able to get the digital download on one disc...
I have the DDE also... so really I did not know that, they probably come on dual-layered DvDs which are harder to burn... as most games do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CptSparrow
ok, but what folder? I know STO installed in the gaming folder like WoW and some other games....but that's after its installed so I'm just wondering what folder I put on a DVD for it to run setup..?
My beta downloader defaulted to making a desktop folder called "downloads/STO" the STO folder should have the setups... which equal about 7.35 Gigs.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-15-2010, 02:45 PM
Ok if I can't burn it what about the download file Gamestop.com gives you? Could I transfer it and re-download it since I purchased it?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-15-2010, 02:48 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by CptSparrow
Ok if I can't burn it what about the download file Gamestop.com gives you? Could I transfer it and re-download it since I purchased it?
Yes, you could probably redownload it on another computer if thats what you are asking.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-15-2010, 02:50 PM
I shall try to redownload it on another PC then.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-15-2010, 02:56 PM
I am not 100% sure if this applies to the DDE version but with the Boxed version you can just burn the game folder (Wherever its installed) to a DVD. The install currently stands at about 8gb so it will easily fit on a Dual Layer DVD.

Then take the disc to another comp and simply copy the folder to your HD and run: Star Trek Online.exe from the folder.

Saves doing a full re-install on the other comp. Doing it this way ofc transfers a fully patched version too.

I moved STO to a recently bought Solid State Drive and I had no issues. Not sure if it uses any registry settings, Usually I find MMOs don't use any that wont be recreated when the launcher is run for the first time.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-15-2010, 03:06 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loxanna
I am not 100% sure if this applies to the DDE version but with the Boxed version you can just burn the game folder (Wherever its installed) to a DVD. The install currently stands at about 8gb so it will easily fit on a Dual Layer DVD.

Then take the disc to another comp and simply copy the folder to your HD and run: Star Trek Online.exe from the folder.

Saves doing a full re-install on the other comp. Doing it this way ofc transfers a fully patched version too.

I moved STO to a recently bought Solid State Drive and I had no issues. Not sure if it uses any registry settings, Usually I find MMOs don't use any that wont be recreated when the launcher is run for the first time.
Thanks I logged onto Gamestop and I'm allowed 3 more (so total of 5) activations and downloads...that's crappy I paid 50bucks for something I can only reinstall 5 times...I should ordered it...thanks for the help I may try burning it...
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:30 PM.