Super Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3,032
# 11
08-04-2014, 06:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by borg0vermind View Post
Since the weekend patch, the game has become again unplayable.
This has happened again about a month ago and laster about two weeks.

Here's how it goes:
1. Takes around 1 minute to get the login menu from launcher.
2. Takes around 3 minutes to get the game launched after login.
3. Takes 1-2 more minutes to get to character selection.
4. Takes 1 minute to load another character screen.
5. When entering a character I usually get a logout timeout or 2, after which it finally enters.
6. While in-game there are permanent lags of around 1 minute.
After 1-2 minutes of total lag, the game usually DCs again in 3 of 4 cases.

Practically, it took me over 1 hour to get some doff mission started on 3 characters, something that suppose to take 5 minutes in normal circumstances.


Notes:
I have no network or PC issues. I have a high end PC that can run any known game maxed out.
I have top of the line fiber connection with 8ms 'ping' to the main country node.

So what is happening ?
If you have no network issues then you don't mind posting your information that is stickied in the new forum this has been moved to.

Remember just because you have an 8ms ping to your country node (or to any node) doesn't mean the connection to Cryptic along the line doesn't have problems.
Volunteer Community Moderator for the Star Trek Online forums
My views may not represent those of Cryptic Studios or Perfect World Entertainment
If you wish to speak to someone on the community team, file a community support ticket here, as we are not able to respond to PMs regarding moderation inquiries.
Contact: Twitter | Line Messenger: askray113
Ensign
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
# 12
08-04-2014, 06:18 PM
I am experiencing same problem... sto is the only game i have that constantly DCs and lags, takes minutes even to load the launcher...when entering a new zone i'm patching at 0-2KBs/sec. Last time i played using this connection a couple of months ago game worked fine without any lags or DCs...now it's unplayable.



Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 11 ms 99 ms 99 ms dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
2 14 ms 15 ms 15 ms 109.98.192.254
3 15 ms 15 ms 15 ms 10.0.223.177
4 60 ms 59 ms 61 ms 10.0.223.93
5 64 ms 63 ms 64 ms 10.0.243.221
6 62 ms 63 ms 62 ms 10.0.200.9
7 61 ms 59 ms 59 ms 10.0.200.46
8 59 ms 60 ms 59 ms 10.0.240.238
9 60 ms 60 ms 60 ms xe-0-3-0-1.r02.frnkge03.de.bb.gin.ntt.net [213.1
98.77.141]
10 57 ms 57 ms 57 ms be3049.agr21.fra03.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.1
5.109]
11 58 ms 59 ms 59 ms be2184.ccr41.fra03.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.4
8.70]
12 66 ms 66 ms 66 ms be2261.ccr41.ams03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.37
.29]
13 70 ms 70 ms 70 ms be2182.ccr21.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.77
.246]
14 149 ms 148 ms 148 ms be2386.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.44
.161]
15 229 ms 211 ms 207 ms te3-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.
134]
16 164 ms 161 ms 161 ms 38.111.40.114
17 145 ms * 144 ms patchserver2.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]


Trace complete.
Cryptic Studios Team
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,416
# 13
08-04-2014, 06:22 PM
This is being investigated. Thanks for the reports.
Captain
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,157
# 14
08-04-2014, 09:49 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by borg0vermind View Post
7x64 SP1, but it is most unlikely that this is a problem since the game did work excellent up to a patch, then acted like this and now the problem repeats just after another patch.
Hey, I'm aware how idiotic it sounds. But time and time again it's the same version of windows that seems affected. Different regions, different isps, different hardware, but if one happens to have another rig in the house with a different OS...they don't have the issue

So /shrug I guess
Chive on and prosper, eh?

My PvE/PvP hybrid skill tree
Lieutenant
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 76
# 15
08-04-2014, 10:03 PM
As all of you are aware we do not connect straight to Cryptic's servers. Our connection "hops" between 30 different servers. Ran a Tracert yesterday and consulted some technicians. My ISP is fine (43 ms Ping) considering I dont have a high tech connection (just the good old ADSL) and I am using a 7 year old PC with Windows 7 Ultimate (PC is modded to its limits but it is excellent -all mxedout and still they run smooth) but when we arrive to hop 10 (That is a Cogentco server) some kind of bottleneck starts. So the problem is not at Cryptic's main server, nor on our end. so prett much everyone that has his connection rerouted through certain Cogentco servers is experiencing this lag. (And it is a vicious bottleneck Ping went from 99 to 183 ms).
The Wildcards Fleet =/\=
Admiral T'Vanto of the I.R.W. Dreaded Balerion (Scimitar Dreadnought Warbird) "Burn them All!"
Admiral Atraxis of the U.S.S. Daskalogiannis (Avenger class Cruiser) "I am Iron Cat!"

Last edited by crimpson7; 08-04-2014 at 10:09 PM.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 50
# 16
08-04-2014, 10:14 PM
Greetings i am From the EU as well and the game for me is literally unplayable. When i login it barely loads my characters and when i press the "Play" button i am disconnected from the Login server(Or at least that is what it says with red letters). This is happening for a second day now. Any thoughts on this? (The game worked fine until Monday afternoon GMT+2)

Last edited by karr007; 08-04-2014 at 10:20 PM.
Lieutenant
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 53
# 17
08-05-2014, 04:42 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by crypticfrost View Post
This is being investigated. Thanks for the reports.
By the way, I live in Brazil and I am affected for this issue too. It is almost impossible to login and stay in game. The message "server not responding" shows all time.

Sometimes the lag are higher thans 800ms. And this happen using US and EU proxy and without any proxy.


1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms MyRouter.Heaven [192.168.10.1]
2 14 ms 30 ms 7 ms 174.251.40.189.isp.timbrasil.com.br [189.40.251
3 4 ms 5 ms 4 ms 10.223.10.2
4 7 ms 10 ms 10 ms 10.223.229.45
5 8 ms 6 ms 6 ms 10.223.238.46
6 7 ms 6 ms 6 ms te0-5-0-1.riodejaneiro2.rio.seabone.net [213.14
7 107 ms 106 ms 106 ms xe-1-3-0.miami15.mia.seabone.net [195.22.199.11
8 106 ms 106 ms 106 ms xe-7-2-3.miami15.mia.seabone.net [195.22.199.16
9 106 ms 107 ms 107 ms te0-0-0-4.ccr21.mia03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.5
10 109 ms 107 ms 107 ms be2054.ccr21.mia01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.8
11 147 ms 147 ms 147 ms be2122.ccr41.atl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.2
12 140 ms 139 ms 139 ms be2170.mpd21.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.3
13 139 ms 140 ms 138 ms be2150.mpd21.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.3
14 144 ms 144 ms 144 ms be2095.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.3
15 146 ms 145 ms 145 ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.4
16 156 ms 145 ms 158 ms 38.111.40.114
17 144 ms 143 ms 143 ms patchserver2.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41].



Connection: 50/30Mbits, Live TIM provider, RJ, Brazil.

Because this issue, I almost dont get the chance to play in last research event.

Last edited by leokesler2012; 08-05-2014 at 04:46 AM.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 157
# 18
08-05-2014, 06:10 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by sabijac View Post
I do think this is EU related problem only tho ...
I concur.
All my fleet members from US seem to fully operational.

-LE-
My traced connection:


1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms
2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms
3 8 ms 4 ms 4 ms [This is main country node]
4 36 ms 36 ms 36 ms [To UE mains]
5 39 ms 39 ms 39 ms
6 39 ms 40 ms 39 ms
7 36 ms 35 ms 36 ms
8 36 ms 34 ms 35 ms xe-0-3-0-1.r02.frnkge03.de.bb.gin.ntt.net [213.198.77.141]
9 38 ms 37 ms 37 ms be3049.agr21.fra03.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.15.109]
10 41 ms 37 ms 36 ms be2184.ccr41.fra03.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.48.70]
11 48 ms 49 ms 48 ms be2261.ccr41.ams03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.37.29]
12 53 ms 53 ms 53 ms be2182.ccr21.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.77.246]
13 125 ms 125 ms 126 ms be2386.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.44.161]
14 123 ms 125 ms 122 ms te3-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.134]
15 129 ms 142 ms 129 ms 38.111.40.114
16 124 ms 125 ms 124 ms patchserver2.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]

Trace complete.

As you can see, the timings are excellent.

Last edited by borg0vermind; 08-05-2014 at 06:14 AM.
Ensign
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
# 19
08-05-2014, 06:11 AM
From Australia here same issue take me around 10min to log in some times longer if I get a log in timeout after selecting my character, then if I get into the game the next loading screening has a 50% chance of timing out.

Presently the game is unplayable for me if its gonna take this long to log in I'm just gonna playing something else.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,473
# 20
08-05-2014, 07:40 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by leokesler2012 View Post
By the way, I live in Brazil and I am affected for this issue too. It is almost impossible to login and stay in game. The message "server not responding" shows all time.

Sometimes the lag are higher thans 800ms. And this happen using US and EU proxy and without any proxy.


1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms MyRouter.Heaven [192.168.10.1]
2 14 ms 30 ms 7 ms 174.251.40.189.isp.timbrasil.com.br [189.40.251
3 4 ms 5 ms 4 ms 10.223.10.2
4 7 ms 10 ms 10 ms 10.223.229.45
5 8 ms 6 ms 6 ms 10.223.238.46
6 7 ms 6 ms 6 ms te0-5-0-1.riodejaneiro2.rio.seabone.net [213.14
7 107 ms 106 ms 106 ms xe-1-3-0.miami15.mia.seabone.net [195.22.199.11
8 106 ms 106 ms 106 ms xe-7-2-3.miami15.mia.seabone.net [195.22.199.16
9 106 ms 107 ms 107 ms te0-0-0-4.ccr21.mia03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.5
10 109 ms 107 ms 107 ms be2054.ccr21.mia01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.8
11 147 ms 147 ms 147 ms be2122.ccr41.atl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.2
12 140 ms 139 ms 139 ms be2170.mpd21.dca01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.3
13 139 ms 140 ms 138 ms be2150.mpd21.jfk02.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.3
14 144 ms 144 ms 144 ms be2095.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.3
15 146 ms 145 ms 145 ms te4-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [66.28.4.4
16 156 ms 145 ms 158 ms 38.111.40.114
17 144 ms 143 ms 143 ms patchserver2.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41].



Connection: 50/30Mbits, Live TIM provider, RJ, Brazil.

Because this issue, I almost dont get the chance to play in last research event.
Quote:
Originally Posted by borg0vermind View Post
I concur.
All my fleet members from US seem to fully operational.

-LE-
My traced connection:


1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms
2 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms
3 8 ms 4 ms 4 ms [This is main country node]
4 36 ms 36 ms 36 ms [To UE mains]
5 39 ms 39 ms 39 ms
6 39 ms 40 ms 39 ms
7 36 ms 35 ms 36 ms
8 36 ms 34 ms 35 ms xe-0-3-0-1.r02.frnkge03.de.bb.gin.ntt.net [213.198.77.141]
9 38 ms 37 ms 37 ms be3049.agr21.fra03.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.15.109]
10 41 ms 37 ms 36 ms be2184.ccr41.fra03.atlas.cogentco.com [130.117.48.70]
11 48 ms 49 ms 48 ms be2261.ccr41.ams03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.37.29]
12 53 ms 53 ms 53 ms be2182.ccr21.lpl01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.77.246]
13 125 ms 125 ms 126 ms be2386.ccr21.bos01.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.44.161]
14 123 ms 125 ms 122 ms te3-4.ccr01.bos06.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54.46.134]
15 129 ms 142 ms 129 ms 38.111.40.114
16 124 ms 125 ms 124 ms patchserver2.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]

Trace complete.

As you can see, the timings are excellent.
So both of you have shown that your issue isn't being caused by network latency... But what about Network Port access, sustained connection throughput, and connection quality with 'dropped packets' issues ??? This is what the 'Net Test' and 'Path Ping' diagnostics are for...

'Path Ping' (windows command 'pathping') uses the same syntax as 'Trace Route' (e.g. 'tracert')

and 'Net Test' is described in this thread... http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...d.php?t=225155
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:49 AM.