Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 235
# 1 Character Copy tool/page
09-12-2014, 06:24 AM
The drop down list of characters on http://www.arcgames.com/en/my/character/copy/sto is not long enough or is being cut off by the banner at the bottom of the page. It shows at most the names of 8 characters. I have 11 that I would potentially be able to copy to the test servers (Tribble, in this specific case). The drop down list cannot be scrolled, and cannot be navigated further with arrow keys (as most can). This issue occurs in current versions of IE 11, Firefox, and the Arc browser itself.
I was someone else here til the forum/account transition lied
and told me that my original name was taken.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 318
# 2
09-14-2014, 12:53 PM
Have this Bug too have more then 13 Chars at Level 50 and only can copy 8 of them to Tribble and none of this 8 is Romulan

I was someone else here til the forum/account transition lied
and told me that my original name was taken. not lyed but Cryptic told us that they reserved the original names but why then we can still not get now ower old names back
18 Cpt on the way to 60: 14 of them are already 50 or over 50, one is 60 and 3 almost 43
Subscribed For: 4 years 5 months 20 days at 26.10.2014

Last edited by ussberlin; 09-14-2014 at 12:57 PM.
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 235
# 3
09-14-2014, 01:57 PM
The most obnoxious thing about this? I went to the site support page to file a bug report, under Tech Support, Forums/Website. That is, after all, where the problem lies. Here was their first response:

Quote:
Thank you for contacting us. I understand that you encountered an issue related to the Public Test Shards (PTS), however, due to the nature of these servers and its purpose, we do not provide support for the PTS. Instead, we highly encourage all PTS related reports to be posted in the appropriate forums which I've listed below for your convenience.
Followed by links to this bug forum. Exasperated, I explained (again) that the issue was not ON the PTS, it was an issue with the webpage the character copy tool is on. Their next response?..

Quote:
Thank you for that information.

We understand that you are having issues with the copying your character to PTS. As previously mentioned, we do not provide support for the PTS this includes copying of character from the main server to PTS. We highly encourage all PTS related issues to be posted on the related forums below:
With the same useless links, of course.

I don't know where their site support is; outsourced or internal. But every one of them needs extensive training in English reading comprehension... at the very least.

Just to be PERFECTLY CLEAR here to anyone (hopefully an actual, qualified tech person at Cryptic's end*) that reads this: the issue is that the character copy tool WEBPAGE does not allow me to see a full list of characters. It has NOTHING to do with the characters not showing up on the PTS after a copy request is made. It has NOTHING to do with any characters that successfully get copied. The page itself does not allow me to access all characters, preventing me from even initiating the copy process in the first place.

*Yeah, I know... a bit of a stretch.
I was someone else here til the forum/account transition lied
and told me that my original name was taken.

Last edited by qqqqii; 09-14-2014 at 01:59 PM.
Captain
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,329
# 4
09-14-2014, 08:05 PM
Press the tab key several times when you open the dropdown to get to your other characters. Or install this:
http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...1#post16406031
http://sto-forum.perfectworld.com/sh...1#post16775291

Yes it sucks that PWE's web team is too inept to fix a simple CSS bug, but at least we have workarounds.
--------------======== Joined: January 2009 ========--------------
>>>CLICK HERE FOR GEAR UPGRADE COST REFERENCE TABLE<<<
Hate the look of the new Arc site? >>Check out my redesign concept images<<
>Bob's Big Giant UI QoL Thread<
Quote:
Originally Posted by borticuscryptic View Post
Ughfffhhghguhhfg...
Survivor of Romulus
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 235
# 5
09-15-2014, 10:37 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightybobcnc View Post
Yes it sucks that PWE's web team is too inept to fix a simple CSS bug, but at least we have workarounds.
Correction: PWE's web team is too inept (or lazy) to realize that this is their issue to deal with. Not sure how I could have simplified the explanation any more for them, short of drawing pictures.
I was someone else here til the forum/account transition lied
and told me that my original name was taken.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 318
# 6
09-15-2014, 01:19 PM
I did send them a support ticked too but they only said more or less i should write it here in the forum nothing more


and i dont try any 3rd party tool to fix this i dont want to lose my STO Acc

and that when i post here someting i get this No Thread specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator is ... so Craptic or Bugtic from Cryptic
18 Cpt on the way to 60: 14 of them are already 50 or over 50, one is 60 and 3 almost 43
Subscribed For: 4 years 5 months 20 days at 26.10.2014
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,576
# 7
09-15-2014, 01:46 PM
I discovered that the characters in the drop down list reflect your last logged in characters on holodeck. Thus I was able to workaround this further failing of the PWE web team by logging in and out of my desired character first and then checking the character copy page (force a cache refresh if it doesn't change, ctrl+f5).

Hope that helps.
nynik | Join Date: Dec 2009
<Dev> Oaks@dstahl: *checks for CBS listening devices in the office*
Empire Veteran
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 307
# 8
09-15-2014, 02:00 PM
If you are using Firefox, you can go to the Character Transfer Page by clicking the link below.

http://www.arcgames.com/en/my/character/copy/sto

Make sure you are logged in (Top Right Corner of the Page) before continuing...

On your Firefox browser, select View / Page Style / No Style and scroll down the page. You will see the complete list of your characters on your logged in account.

Near the bottom, you will see a few lists... The first being your characters.

Please choose Character and Server!
Character
Selectdown


Character Name
...
...
...
...


Just click on your desired character and go down to the next list...

Server
Selectdown


Tribble
Redshirt


A couple spaces below the server list will be a Copy! link. Just click on that link and you're done.

When you're done, click on View / Page Style / Basic Page Style and everything will revert to normal.

Join Date: Tuesday, February 2, 2010

Last edited by ixionveridian; 09-15-2014 at 02:14 PM.
Career Officer
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 318
# 9
09-16-2014, 04:07 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixionveridian View Post
....
not working!!!

on Crome
on Firefox
and the Arc Client not working ass well

It always only shows 8 of my Level 50 Cpt and i have much more.
18 Cpt on the way to 60: 14 of them are already 50 or over 50, one is 60 and 3 almost 43
Subscribed For: 4 years 5 months 20 days at 26.10.2014

Last edited by ussberlin; 09-16-2014 at 04:17 AM.
Captain
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3,329
# 10
09-16-2014, 05:26 AM
Tab Key. Use it.
--------------======== Joined: January 2009 ========--------------
>>>CLICK HERE FOR GEAR UPGRADE COST REFERENCE TABLE<<<
Hate the look of the new Arc site? >>Check out my redesign concept images<<
>Bob's Big Giant UI QoL Thread<
Quote:
Originally Posted by borticuscryptic View Post
Ughfffhhghguhhfg...
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:31 PM.