Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Dual Phasers
02-18-2010, 08:28 AM
I saw a youtube vid of a Lt. in STO using some sort of dual phasers.
Where can I get them from?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YyzoyAeLngo
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-18-2010, 08:31 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenon560 View Post
I saw a youtube vid of a Lt. in STO using some sort of dual phasers.
Where can I get them from?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YyzoyAeLngo
I received them as a drop. I think you may be able to get them in requisitions in the shipyard upper floor. They have a 90 degree firing arc and as you can see from the vid drain a lot of power.

You could also check the exchange, but I'm sure the prices are ridiculous.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-18-2010, 08:35 AM
I don't have the dual phasers so I don't know, but wasn't a lot of the power drain in that video from the ship going into reverse? Doesn't that evetually drain power if you do it for long?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-18-2010, 08:38 AM
Had some as a drop, used for a little while, hated them due to power drain and smaller firing arc. Possibly decent for escorts, not my thing though.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-18-2010, 08:38 AM
I have not seen DUal Phasers, but I have found Dual Disruptors. I did see a mission that offered Dual Phasers, but it must have been a glich as when I beat the mission it was not selectable.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-18-2010, 08:39 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarqas View Post
I don't have the dual phasers so I don't know, but wasn't a lot of the power drain in that video from the ship going into reverse? Doesn't that evetually drain power if you do it for long?
Oh, I don't really reverse that often so I guess you could be right. I don't notice that much drain on my power, but I have EPS conduits and the like to help regen.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7 Answer
02-18-2010, 08:41 AM
I think you mean "Phaser Bank" that fires two beams, you can quip this on any kind of ship.

Phaser Array - Low Damage - 250 degree arc
Phaser Bank - Medium Damage - 90 drgree arc (same as torpedos)
Phaser Cannons - High Damage (Escort Class only) 90 or 40 deggree for dule cannons

If you over load your ship with just beams or cannons then you may have power problmes, the lower your power bar the less your weppons will do.

So to avoid this you need to fit one or two torpedo slots or mines
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-18-2010, 08:49 AM
I have used 1 dual Phaser bank on each of my science ships due to the turn rate of the science vessels they can be brought to bare on target quite easily and do more damage than phasers. not noticed any power issues but I only use one per ship?

Hope this helps someone
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-18-2010, 08:52 AM
I'm a Captain 9 (14 bars to go - woot). Currently I have 2 beams, a dual, and a torp up front, and 2 beams and a torp in the rear, in my cruiser. When I get my next ship at Admiral, I will either be putting in another dual in the back, or mines. Not sure which, but probably the dual. I find the plasma release skill as effective as mines.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 AM.