Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Gameplay Bug Reports
Login

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 31
02-19-2010, 02:38 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoxe
I just checked specifically to get confirmation on this before I answered, Sresk.

Science Team III is supposed to unlock after getting Scientist to rank 9.
In other words, the tooltips are correct. The bug here is that this is unlocking for Doctor rank 9 instead. This will be fixed in an upcoming patch.

As far as a respec being granted? At this time, respecs in this game are simply not possible, but it's something we're working hard at getting in, and quickly. Regardless though, we can't even consider giving out a respec until they are actually possible.

Furthermore - if the skill is outside your area of expertise, you can not train it to bridge officers. This is as designed. If you are a Tactical officer, you will simply never be able to train your bridge crew with Science Team III for example.
Thank you sir! so if I understand correctly then as I have already trained 9 points in scientist after this bug is fixed I will magically be able to train this. (this is a great solution as far as I'm concerned) This still leaves a problem for those people that trained doctor to 9 and can currently train science team mk III will they be left out to dry? Not that it impacts me but...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 32
02-19-2010, 03:20 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eleriel
I have heard people say that you can teach other people's BOs, and that they can teach yours... by standing close and right-clicking the person's portrait you can use some kind of 'trade...' function.. or perhaps it was only when you're in a ship... something to that effect.
I think there may even have been a DEV post on the matter.
I just tested this in system space, sector space, at Earth Spacedock and on my ship's bridge. No-where was is possible to train anyone else's BOff.

Quote:
@ Phoxe... would it be possible to change the skill-information so that I can only see the "learning all nine ranks unlocks the ability to teach..." for the skills I will actually be able to teach?
to put an end to all this confusion, that is.

you already have three separate skill-lists for the three classes... anyway, something to think about for when you introduce respecs, which will probably require altering the skill-lists anyway.
This would be a big help to avoid the confusion folks have about this.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 33
02-19-2010, 03:37 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakirn View Post
If you could train any skill regardless of your captain type then the game would be much more cookie cutter. Everyone would have Rank III of abilities. Even more so if there was no "skill cap" and everyone would have every skill.

Right now the Tactical captains have the best tactical abilities, engineers have the best engineering and science are the best at science. That's how it should be.
Due to the limitations of stations on each ship type, this means either no level 3 powers, or everyone limited to the same ship class as the captain's class, thus severely limiting the possibility of combining ships and captains. Do you really want to only be stuck with an Escort as a Tactical officer or have the option to captain a different ship class without being gimped by being stuck with lower level powers or the 2-4 level 3 powers we can find on the various "looted" BOffs.

It seems to me, that forcing folks into the ship class that matches your character's class would actually lead to more cookie cutter builds. After all, every Tac would train the same skills to have the same level 3 Tac BOff powers. Every Eng would have the same skills and same level 3 Eng Boff powers. Every Sci would have the same skills and same level 3 Sci BOff powers. However, if an Eng in an Escort were able to get those level 3 Tac Boff powers, yes it could be the same ship and BOff powers, but with different captain's powers, making the encounter break the cookie cutter mold.

Your argument about only a captain of a specific class should be good at training that classes powers, isn't what I'm arguing against. I am arguing against not being able to trade those officers i train. After all a good captain, will typically crew their ship with the best officers they can that fill the roles the captain can't. Thus a good tactical officer captain should want to find those Engineers and Science Officers that would be best for their ship, regardless of the class of the ship and especially when captaining a Cruiser or Science ship.

Would the captain of an Aircraft Carrier who specialized in Engineering only take a mediocre Air-boss or would he look for an craft Air-boss to handle all the Air ops stuff for him? Sure that Captain can't train a crack Air-boss, but he sure as hell can and will choose the best candidate of those available for the position.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 34
02-19-2010, 03:57 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoxe
I just checked specifically to get confirmation on this before I answered, Sresk.

Science Team III is supposed to unlock after getting Scientist to rank 9.
In other words, the tooltips are correct. The bug here is that this is unlocking for Doctor rank 9 instead. This will be fixed in an upcoming patch.

As far as a respec being granted? At this time, respecs in this game are simply not possible, but it's something we're working hard at getting in, and quickly. Regardless though, we can't even consider giving out a respec until they are actually possible.

Furthermore - if the skill is outside your area of expertise, you can not train it to bridge officers. This is as designed. If you are a Tactical officer, you will simply never be able to train your bridge crew with Science Team III for example.
If I can just go on record and say I disagree with that design... That means us engineers and scientists are pigeon-holed into our class's, making it much more difficult to cross specialize. I thought the point of this game was to blur the lines between classes. This seems to run contrary to that goal.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 35
02-19-2010, 10:36 PM
the exact problem your refering to is seen on the klink BoP. basicly the omni ship lets a scientist with vm or an engineer with a tons of buffs in a very manuverable gun boat. so if you wan the whole game to be crazy to the point you dont know who has what just by lookn atem then yea you want cross trained boffs.

omni bop = broken and unessesary. all be it fun.


glad to hear my problem is known and being fixed... eventuly
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 36
02-20-2010, 09:24 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoxe
Furthermore - if the skill is outside your area of expertise, you can not train it to bridge officers. This is as designed. If you are a Tactical officer, you will simply never be able to train your bridge crew with Science Team III for example.
I can understand a Tactical Officer like me not being able to Train in Science Team 3 which is under skills only a Science Officer has, but other general science/engineering skills that are available to all players can not be trained in either if you are a Tactical Officer like myself. For example, "Starship Sensor Arrays" under Commander level states learning all 9 levels unlocks "Jam Sensors 3", I have all 9 levels but still can not train it because I am a Tactical Officer. The ONLY skills that list trainable for me are Tactical Skills. We should be able to train BOs in general skills available to everyone regardless of class we picked for our main.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 37
03-13-2010, 05:30 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoxe
IFurthermore - if the skill is outside your area of expertise, you can not train it to bridge officers. This is as designed. If you are a Tactical officer, you will simply never be able to train your bridge crew with Science Team III for example.
This may be working as intended, but I would like to take this moment to say, it's frickin stupid. Not least of all for the fact that it never TELLS you that in game. If I spent the points on a skill to get it up to max for the skill it says it unlocks I should get that skill regardless of my class. If training something up to it's max level doesn't unlock the skill for my class, then the skill tree shouldn't say it does.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 38
03-14-2010, 04:01 PM
i still cant train my engineers with Chroniton mines 3 even though it says in my character sheet i should have access to it.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:12 AM.