Lt. Commander
# 1 Hi :-) help....
02-18-2010, 08:07 PM
Hi....

I recently got STO 2 days ago, and this is my first time ever playing a mmorpg, and its quite challenging with all the micromangment....

I am tier 1, tac officer...and I am kinda looking for "guide" / instructions as to what to do, to get a decent phaser rifle, and progress to tier 2, atm I am walking about the starbase, do u have to do quests there, b4 u can be sent out on missions ?
Lt. Commander
# 2
02-18-2010, 08:15 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by James_Jon_George View Post
I recently got STO 2 days ago, and this is my first time ever playing a mmorpg, and its quite challenging with all the micromangment....
Welcome to the game!

You'll be an old pro in now time. It can seem a bit intimidating, and as a LtCmdr-1 I am still learning new things, but you'll have the basics of gameplay down fairly shortly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by James_Jon_George View Post
I am tier 1, tac officer...and I am kinda looking for "guide" / instructions as to what to do, to get a decent phaser rifle, and progress to tier 2, atm I am walking about the starbase, do u have to do quests there, b4 u can be sent out on missions ?
Early on you should be told to go see Admiral Quinn. He will direct to you Akiru Sulu (they are in the same office). Both of these folks will give you missions via the "Hail Starfleet" button which is part of your mini-map in the upper right. Looks like the Starfleet delta combadge.

You will always get, and turn in, missions via Hail Starfleet so become familiar with it. As you progress through the ranks you will get the option to get missions from other people. Quinn will occassionally also send you to see someone who, once you meet them, will then give you missions.