Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
02-19-2010, 08:02 PM
Nothing in the DXDiag is jumping out at me... the CPU is a little old; but again we are talking three different computers turning completely off as soon as you click on "Engage".

Typically this would be a unique case per system but since you have three systems all presenting this there has to be some reason they are doing this. Are you plugging these computers into the same surge protector or wall socket? Are they on the same circuit?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
02-19-2010, 08:16 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by USSWasabi
Nothing in the DXDiag is jumping out at me... the CPU is a little old; but again we are talking three different computers turning completely off as soon as you click on "Engage".

Typically this would be a unique case per system but since you have three systems all presenting this there has to be some reason they are doing this. Are you plugging these computers into the same surge protector or wall socket? Are they on the same circuit?

To be clear, the computers are shutting down after I hit "PLAY", after I've gone thru the launcher and my character has been retrieved. And this is a new problem that arose after a few days of satisfactory gameplay. Also we are talking about the same problem happening with two different operating systems - the first two were Windows XP and now the exact same thing is happening on Vista.

These computers are plugged into the same wall socket and on the same circuit, yes.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
02-20-2010, 01:06 AM
Did you download the installer as a .exe or zip file? If zip file do not use windows zip program. It will corrupt the files. Use WinRAR.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
02-20-2010, 04:24 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by White Knight
Did you download the installer as a .exe or zip file? If zip file do not use windows zip program. It will corrupt the files. Use WinRAR.
I guess I'm not sure what you mean. I have only installed the game from disk. The game installs, loads just fine. I am simply unable to actually PLAY it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
02-20-2010, 04:54 AM
Forget the network assumption, lets do this the easy way, instead of everyone just randomly guessing problems.

Please follow these instructions.

For vista and windows 7 :

  • Press Start, and in the search box and the bottom of the start menu type the following without quotes, "Event Viewer" then hit enter.
  • You will now see a system admin box. On the left side, you will see a directory listing. Click the one at the very top that says "Event Viewer [Local]"
  • In the middle column you will see a sub screen that says, "Summary of Administrative events". Find the option in there that says "Error", and click the "+" symbol next to it.
  • Look at the sub column that says 24 hours or 7 days (depending on when you last encountered the shutdown), then find the error that has been recorded during that period. Double left click the error and it will open a new screen. Click the error and look down at the bottom in the gray window. It will list the error that caused the computer to shutdown.
  • Post that error here.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
02-20-2010, 05:02 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedgp123 View Post
Are your systems connected by a network by any chance? Either hard wired, or connected via wireless?
Yes, home network. PC's are connected to a router, which is connected to a modem.

I tried again this morning, got thru the launcher, loaded my character - hit "Play" and it actually loaded to Memory Alpha (!!!) and then shut down the entire computer after three seconds of gameplay. Very frustrating, to say the least.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
02-20-2010, 05:06 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Persephone3 View Post
Yes, home network. PC's are connected to a router, which is connected to a modem.

I tried again this morning, got thru the launcher, loaded my character - hit "Play" and it actually loaded to Memory Alpha (!!!) and then shut down the entire computer after three seconds of gameplay. Very frustrating, to say the least.
Updated my post for you. I think i know the reason for your system shutdowns, but i want to be 100% sure, before i ask you to do things, that might change settings on your systems. Especially as they seem to be working fine apart from running STO.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
02-20-2010, 05:14 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedgp123 View Post
[*]Post that error here.[/list][/b]
Log Name: System
Source: EventLog
Date: 2/20/2010 7:34:26 AM
Event ID: 6008
Task Category: None
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Craig-PC
Description:
The previous system shutdown at 7:32:28 AM on 2/20/2010 was unexpected.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="EventLog" />
<EventID Qualifiers="32768">6008</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-02-20T12:34:26.000Z" />
<EventRecordID>35604</EventRecordID>
<Channel>System</Channel>
<Computer>Craig-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>7:32:28 AM</Data>
<Data>2/20/2010</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>35073</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Binary>DA07020006001400070020001C006501DA07020006 0014000C0020001C006501600900003C000000010000006009 000000000000B00400000100000000000000</Binary>
</EventData>
</Event>


Is that the information you are looking for?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
02-20-2010, 05:17 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Persephone3 View Post
Log Name: System
Source: EventLog
Date: 2/20/2010 7:34:26 AM
Event ID: 6008
Task Category: None
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Craig-PC
Description:
The previous system shutdown at 7:32:28 AM on 2/20/2010 was unexpected.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="EventLog" />
<EventID Qualifiers="32768">6008</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2010-02-20T12:34:26.000Z" />
<EventRecordID>35604</EventRecordID>
<Channel>System</Channel>
<Computer>Craig-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>7:32:28 AM</Data>
<Data>2/20/2010</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>35073</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Binary>DA07020006001400070020001C006501DA07020006 0014000C0020001C006501600900003C000000010000006009 000000000000B00400000100000000000000</Binary>
</EventData>
</Event>


Is that the information you are looking for?
yep. thats what i need. thanks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
02-20-2010, 05:27 AM
Waiting with bated breath.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:52 PM.