Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 21
02-20-2010, 01:23 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by milehighscott
I'm getting a feeling that some of these modems can't handle the connections for the patcher, but not sure until I get a packet capture to see what it looks like before it dies.
sounds about right to me thank you for the update.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 22
02-20-2010, 02:08 PM
IF this were me having the problem, I'd start with watching my network traffice to see what's getting lost..... How I'd do that well, start here: do a google search for wireshark, download it and install. it's a packet sniffing appliaction. what you use if for is to look at the network traffic to and from your computer to see if/what/where the packets are getting lost.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 23
02-20-2010, 02:27 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by coderanger
It means your connection to the server has been interrupted. Make sure you aren't using wireless or some other unreliable connection.
sorry but im on wire internet and have no prob with any other game. this prob started friday and im a life time sub member ,and all the info im getting is cryptic side.

ive unistaled and re instaled and same thing i get to the patch and get the error 14 code but my speed on the net is just fine!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 24
02-20-2010, 02:33 PM
I am on a cable modem connection through an ethernet cable through a router that hasnt had ANY trouble with STO patches until this last patch. I had to reinstall due to a HD failure and the ST.0.20100217c.2 will NOT download to patch the retail version of the game. I have tried everything possible. But my connection has NOT changed. Something either AT Cryptic or INBETWEEN me and Cryptic is causing the problem.

Now if my "cheap" modem is to blame it hasnt been failing on any of the previous patches that Cryptic has released from start of OB til this last patch. So from a troubleshooting standpoint SOMETHING changed when they did this last patch.

If there was an alternate way to dload the patch so it can be manually done would be very helpful. Or simply a series of patches instead of a huge lump sum patch.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 25 still
02-20-2010, 02:40 PM
still having the same problem....
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 26
02-20-2010, 02:57 PM
See if manually setting you network adapter to 10 full slows down the patching enough to not lock up your modem.

That has worked for one person here and several on other game forums. You can watch the patching process by hitting the X key once you login. Take a look at the top left corner at the x/100 number. See if it is spiking above 30 to 100/100 when you modem crashes.

If you do a lot of local file transfers you'll want to bump the nic back up to auto or 100 full when you are done patching or if it doesn't help.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 27
02-20-2010, 03:01 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by arobe View Post
ive unistaled and re instaled and same thing i get to the patch and get the error 14 code but my speed on the net is just fine!
Unfortunately there are very few individuals having this issue; so it is more likely a connection issue on their end and not on Cryptic's end (not saying it couldn't be, just saying that it is not likely).

When you log into the patcher, press "C" and report what the console tells you.

EDIT: Wont be back for a few hours, sorry.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 28
02-20-2010, 03:36 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by USSWasabi
Unfortunately there are very few individuals having this issue; so it is more likely a connection issue on their end and not on Cryptic's end (not saying it couldn't be, just saying that it is not likely).

When you log into the patcher, press "C" and report what the console tells you.

EDIT: Wont be back for a few hours, sorry.
thanks for this ( "C" console / connection info).

this is the info I get:

PatchClientLib: connection to patchserver.crypticstudios.com:7255
PatchClientLib: Redirecting to 208.95.184.164:7255
PatchClientLib: skipping uneeded autoupdate CrypticLancherST
PatchClientLib: Successfully Connectied
PatchClientLib: xferrer hanging, 31s now
PatchClientLib: xferrer hanging, 61s now
PatchClientLib: unexpectedly disconnected
Error14: The connection to the server was lost. Restarting in 10
Error14: The connection to the server was lost. Restarting in 9
Error14: The connection to the server was lost. Restarting in 8
Error14: The connection to the server was lost. Restarting in 7
Error14: The connection to the server was lost. Restarting in 6
Error14: The connection to the server was lost. Restarting in 5
Error14: The connection to the server was lost. Restarting in 4
Error14: The connection to the server was lost. Restarting in 3
Error14: The connection to the server was lost. Restarting in 2
Error14: The connection to the server was lost. Restarting in 1



So looks like connection issue with the patch server and not my connection to the internet.

FreejackeR -out.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 29
02-20-2010, 03:37 PM
yep i had that hanging thing to for 51 seconds one other time and got tossed off the internet.


See if manually setting you network adapter to 10 full slows down the patching enough to not lock up your modem. <------ ok how do you set your network adapter like so ???.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 30
02-20-2010, 03:48 PM
I am a little dismayed we havent heard more from cryptic on this, this is an issue affecting many of us, if the patcher wont work they should make the updated files available somehow and release them as a download, hopefully that will bypass the updating process and allow us to get into the freakin game.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:24 PM.