Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
While trying to update the latest patch, I get about 6-7% in at which point the activity light on my modem turns off and I must manually restart the modem to reconnect to the internet. It's a Siemens Speedstram 4100 through AT&T and I contacted AT&T customer service and we determined the problem is not on my end: I have disabled all security software, restarted in safe mode with network connections, and the customer service guy noted no problems with my connection until I began to try and patch, at which point the connection dropped. I have been playing this game since beta and this is the first time I've encountered this problem. I am using Steam, if that's pertinent at all.
Any pointers and failing that is there a direct download to the patch that I can download through my browser? All other internet functionality is totally fine. Thanks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-20-2010, 04:39 PM
welcome to the party

yeah alot of us are having troubles too....
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-20-2010, 04:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by trekkinit
welcome to the party

yeah alot of us are having troubles too....
Same thing with you all too? That actually makes me feel a little better!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-20-2010, 04:46 PM
oh yea i've been with out STO for 2 day's so far.... the following thread's Error 14 & Patcher Kills my Modem ....
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-21-2010, 01:16 PM
Yep, sounds familiar!
I have the same problem since last Thursday's(02-18) patch.
After I logged in the automatic patch would start..... aaaaaaaand boooom ...network frozen, sorry no STO today!!!!
So I had to restart my router (and only the router!), the network would be up and running again... until I tried patching again......yep...frozen network!!
Regular browsing was fine.
So I am guessing this one is on Cryptik.
I read a thread that suggested to slow down the modem and/or router in order to better manage the high amount of traffic during the patch-process.
So I went into my router's settings and changed my wireless setting from Auto108Mbps to "b" only, which slows my router down to about 11Mbps.
I logged into my account, the patch started.......and guess what.....IT WORKED. For the first time since wednesday evening I was able to do some exploring in STO

I am located in Cincinnati, have Insight Broadband10.0, Windows XP SP3, Cable Modem from RCA Thomson (which did not seem to be the problem in my setup!), Netgear Router WGT624 V.3 (which I changed to wireless"b" only).
Netgear Wireless Adapter WG311T.
After the patch finished, I set my router back to Auto108Mbps and was able to log in and play!
Hope that helps!!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-21-2010, 02:23 PM
Amazing, I tried the same thing with my 2wire modem, set it down to b, and tada it works.

Thanks for the advice!!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-21-2010, 02:26 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by trekkinit
oh yea i've been with out STO for 2 day's so far.... the following thread's Error 14 & Patcher Kills my Modem ....
Quote:
Originally Posted by bingbongboo View Post
Same thing with you all too? That actually makes me feel a little better!
if both of you could down laod and run this see if this helps this is a patch for the loader my father had same probs and this fixed it! the dread error 14

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/114641/StarTrekOnlineTest.zip
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8 the fix
02-22-2010, 07:18 AM
Hi I just had to add this.

I've been constantly blocked since friday with the whole log in crash deal. I've read a lot of posts trying to figure a way to deal with this. I've read the things about nettest and switching the conectivity in the doohickey folder (whatever its called. may as well be speaking pig-klingon) .

I tried something different. I went to the options panel,and clicked "patch by proxy" and have where it says "proxy" set as default to "none". After three days I am glad to say I'm completely patched.

It took my by surprise..I was expecting to see my modem ( a siemons 4100 by the by) lose its light along with my connection to the internet. Took maybe seven seconds total. Just long enough to spray my monitor with a fresh glurg of cream stout. Crazy!

Hope it helped,and if not..ehh..make fun of me!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-22-2010, 11:51 AM
Hey if your modem are shutting down did any of you think the modem is bad. It on 24/7 nothing last forever. Modems do go bad. Large downloads will task the modem a lot more then normal browsing. If your modem can't handled it, it needs to be replace.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-22-2010, 11:59 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by White Knight
Hey if your modem are shutting down did any of you think the modem is bad. It on 24/7 nothing last forever. Modems do go bad. Large downloads will task the modem a lot more then normal browsing. If your modem can't handled it, it needs to be replace.
It is not the modem. The chances of 30+ people on here having their modems die while patching on the same day a patch is pushed out is absolutely 0. It was something that Cryptic did and as usual they are not responding and haven't done anything to fix it yet.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:19 AM.