Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 G Series Macro Thread
02-26-2010, 06:43 PM
I just bought a G15 keyboard because I kept hearing how much easier things are with it. Well I have been playing with the key editor and am still a bit confused (old guy here). I did a search through the forums and I see a lot of talk about getting/using the G series keyboards, but no one is really posting macros.

Since macros with a G series keyboard aren't considered exploits (they haven't given a clear answer, none were negative, and it's a hardware function anyways)...I was hoping to see what some folks have developed for their G keys.

Thanks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-27-2010, 09:24 AM
Wow...anyone lend a helping hand?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-27-2010, 09:28 AM
I only use two G buttons, one for spamming redistribute shields, and the other for fire all phasers. Nothing fancy.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-27-2010, 09:30 AM
I think hes wanting someone to tell him what to type in for the macro. I asked something similar before and was basically told to "learn to macro."
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-27-2010, 09:34 AM
macro:

space down
0.063 second delay
space up


Set the key on "toggle" mode.

Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-27-2010, 09:36 AM
I don't really use macros on my G15. What I do use it for is programming the G keys to do things like Alt + 1-9 and Ctrl + 1-9, so that I can activate 4-5 abilities very quickly without having to click my mouse to death.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-27-2010, 09:39 AM
I would like to contibute, but so far I have not seen a good document on what we can do and timing of items.

Macros I would like to set up.
space
High Capacity Warhead, followed by fire torpedo (right now it Alt-2 2
Fire at will followed by fire
Sticky turning, turn left and stay turning left until I say stop
Power profile shifts. Like swap to max engine and shields for escape,
throttle controls, Full Impulse to 50% impulse with single button

ground
Target closest exposed, fire exploit power is only real one that I use.
I could use spamming fire on my target ( I wish that was a toggle)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-27-2010, 09:42 AM
First off, open up the profiler and go to settings, record delay during quick macro creation. Then in game hit MR, then a G button, and record the keys you want it to record. Remembering its recording how fast/slow you push those keys. Then when youre done, hit the MR button again. If you want the macro to loop like for auto fire beams, alt tab back to the profiler screen and click on the g button you recorder, go to repeat options, and then select toggle. Hope that helps if not message me in game or PM me here on forum
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-27-2010, 10:59 AM
i only toggle distribute shields on/off
and that is rarely needed since they nerfed the difficulty back in open beta...

if anybody has ideas what else to do...?

PS: anybody knows why numpad 9 isn't accepted in the Keybindings?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-27-2010, 11:15 AM
there's something better, if you can find one. neen using this for yrs for both shooters and Silent Hunter III/IV and now STO.

http://shop.steelseries.com/index.ph...-game-pad.html
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 AM.