Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I've been playing the game since OB, and I've only had the game crash a handful of times...until the most recent patch. Now whenever I attempt to do an away mission the game freezes and then crashes. I usually get a windows "GameClient.exe" is not responding message, but I will ocationally get a "failure to extract [filename ].hogg check launcher files for verification" message.

How do I go about checking the launcher and/or fixing this so I can actually play all aspects of the game?

All space zones (sector/missions/etc.) work just fine, as does ground pvp.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-21-2010, 10:09 AM
/bump anyone?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-21-2010, 11:21 AM
I get this a lot too. I have no idea how to fix it. system is optimal.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-21-2010, 11:30 AM
here are my graffix settings if it helps.

PrefEntry GfxSettings.Antialiasing 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.AspectRatio 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.AutoEnableFrameRateStabilizer 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.BloomIntensity 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.BloomQuality 2

PrefEntry GfxSettings.CharacterDetailLevel 0.5

PrefEntry GfxSettings.CharacterMipLevel 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.CharacterTexLODLevel 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.DisableSplatShadows 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.DrawHighDetail 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.DrawHighFillDetail 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.DynamicLights 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.FrameRateStabilizer2 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.Fullscreen 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.FxQuality 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.Gamma 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.GfxFeaturesDesired 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.GPUAccelParticles 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.GraphicsQuality 0.667

PrefEntry GfxSettings.HighQualityDOF2 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.LastRecordedPerf 1573.03

PrefEntry GfxSettings.LightingQuality 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxDebris 100

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxFPS 60

PrefEntry GfxSettings.Maximized 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxInactiveFPS 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxLightsPerObject 2

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxReflection 2

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MaxShadowedLights 3

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MinDepthBiasFix 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.MonitorIndex 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.PerFrameSleep 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.PoissonShadows 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.PreloadMaterials 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.ReduceFileStreaming 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.RefreshRate 60

PrefEntry GfxSettings.RenderScaleX 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.RenderScaleY 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.RenderThread 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.ScreenHeight 720

PrefEntry GfxSettings.ScreenWidth 1280

PrefEntry GfxSettings.ScreenXPos 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.ScreenYPos 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.SettingsDefaultsVersion 2

PrefEntry GfxSettings.SettingsVersion 5

PrefEntry GfxSettings.ShowAdvanced 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.SoftParticles 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.SoftwareCursor 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.SSAO 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.TerrainDetailLevel 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.TexAnisotropy 4

PrefEntry GfxSettings.UseFullSkinning 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.UseVSync2 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.VideoCardDeviceID 38418

PrefEntry GfxSettings.VideoCardVendorID 4098

PrefEntry GfxSettings.WorldDetailLevel 0.25

PrefEntry GfxSettings.WorldLoadScale 1

PrefEntry GfxSettings.WorldMipLevel 0

PrefEntry GfxSettings.WorldTexLODLevel 1
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-21-2010, 11:39 AM
Hey I was told in game to set the visual settings to max speed rather than quality. This worked for me. I no longer even lag in away missions.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-21-2010, 11:39 AM
Dumb question. Do you have enough harddrive space left on your HDD? (Pref a few GB).

Failing that, Delete the dll files from your STO directory and the exe.hogg file. Once this is done, go to the launcher options and click force verify. The patcher will redownload these files incase the others were corrupt.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-21-2010, 11:42 AM
A friend and I simultaneously crashed on the mission where you have to lead Admiral Zell through a romulan base.

Twice.

The first time, we figured it was random crashes.
But when it happened to both of us within the span of a few seconds, after having verified all files, we knew it was something we could not avoid.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-21-2010, 12:26 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedgp123 View Post
Dumb question. Do you have enough harddrive space left on your HDD? (Pref a few GB).

Failing that, Delete the dll files from your STO directory and the exe.hogg file. Once this is done, go to the launcher options and click force verify. The patcher will redownload these files incase the others were corrupt.
I've got 81.9gb of free harddrive space. As I was going through the folders looking for the .dll files, I noticed that I don't have a "exe,hogg" file, instead I have "exes.hogg" Not sure if that makes a difference.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-21-2010, 12:51 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bhaelros
I've got 81.9gb of free harddrive space. As I was going through the folders looking for the .dll files, I noticed that I don't have a "exe,hogg" file, instead I have "exes.hogg" Not sure if that makes a difference.
Delete it, and run a force verify. The exes.hogg file is what contains the files needed to start up and run the game.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-21-2010, 12:53 PM
I did that, and I still have the same problem.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:13 AM.