Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
We all know the scaling of DS9 and K7 are way off, because the Dev's want them just bigger for the BIG instances (i yet have to see more then 10 ships arround DS9 though)

...ok i just cut to the Point!

K7:
you decided to go with the Canon Optics of the Station, yet K7 is a VERY small station that is not much bigger then a small Constitution Class, it is more like a Silo in Space.

original K7 look:
http://drexfiles.files.wordpress.com...ytruce_r08.jpg

Ingame, from far away it looks just fine:
http://s5b.directupload.net/images/100222/vc2xvrby.jpg

but if you get close:
http://s4b.directupload.net/images/100222/mbnmorjl.jpg
uuuuh? COME ON! The Windows are bigger then my Ship !? ...even the Textures are horrible from close up.


now what you gonna do? scale K7 down? not going to happen... i guess

I FOUND THE PERFECT SOLUTION :

http://drexfiles.files.wordpress.com...e_leave_03.jpg
http://drexfiles.files.wordpress.com...untitled92.jpg

It might not be 100% Canon but it is a compromise, you allways could say that K7 got rebuild somewhere between TOS and STO with bigger size but same design making it one of the more important Space Stations.


...oh and proper Docking Procedures would be nice too, would give us something to do in those *Warp In - Full Impulse - Beam Down*-Instances and improve immersion.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-22-2010, 09:49 AM
.......thoughts?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-22-2010, 09:59 AM
You links under Perfect Solution dont work.

But I agree that K7 is too big.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-22-2010, 10:00 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z3R0B4NG View Post
.......thoughts?
whats stopping them from upgrading the station after all those years? module by module?

a station that close to the boarder would not be left to age out of the era... at least i would think.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-22-2010, 10:05 AM
Just a note, the bigger the surface, the worse the texture'll look. Only option's either using higher resolution textures, place a different texture scaling, or cut the station into multiple peices, none of which are all that easy.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-22-2010, 10:10 AM
higher resolution textures would be very much needed for K7, yes.... DS9 looks fine though (a little big on the windows too but the Windows on the inside are bigger too ).

...
links work fine for me but here you go again:

http://www.imagebanana.com/img/mweuw...e_leave_03.jpg
http://www.imagebanana.com/img/qmjaz3dz/untitled92.jpg
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-22-2010, 10:51 AM
http://www.ex-astris-scientia.org/sc...tion-chart.jpg
http://www.ex-astris-scientia.org/sc...leet-chart.jpg

K-7: 450m
Akira Class: 440m


1:1 scale would be crazy to use for K-7, but having as big as it is and using textures, for the Windows as it were 1:1 scale is also crazy.



another thing: in Sector Space, please show the Stations, it was done for DS9 (the inner ring is missing there btw.) and that one Fleet Action base, Starbase 39 in the Sierra Sector and K-7 should Also be displayed in Sector Space!
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:45 AM.