Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Graphical and Sound Issues
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I love this game; however, it causes my graphics to freeze solid, not just in the game but outside of it as well. It takes some time just to get my computer running normally again.

I am currently running patch 190.38 because it works. When I installed patch 196.21, all hell broke loose. The game froze my computer graphics, and even after I uninstalled STO, the freeze continued repeatedly. I had to uninstall the latest graphics patch and reinstall the earlier one to fix the problem.

My graphics card specs match that of the GeForce 8800, even exceeding it in many areas. Unless I am missing something there, there should be no problem graphically between the game and my card.

I am afraid to try the game again. Any ideas or suggestions out there?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-20-2010, 02:43 PM
What temperature does your card get to? The GTX 280 outstrips the 8800 in every are.... you should be able to play the game on the highest settings at a high resolution with no issues.

Also, check your CPU temps.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-20-2010, 03:20 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splyce View Post
What temperature does your card get to? The GTX 280 outstrips the 8800 in every are.... you should be able to play the game on the highest settings at a high resolution with no issues.

Also, check your CPU temps.
How do I check the temps?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-20-2010, 03:24 PM
Try http://www.techpowerup.com/realtemp/

Set it to record a log file and play STO until it freezes..then restart your system and check the log file.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-20-2010, 03:47 PM
You could clock it down to make it cooler, or even better you can get a better cooler for it, it can be dangerous to mount a new cooler if you dont have experience doing so, slightest failure can destroy the card permanently.

But a warning about the 190 drivers from NVidia, they contain memory leaks that makes your card work harder than intended, resulting in extreme temperatures. The latest 196.21 fixes that and increases the performance.

Also, did you install this card yourself?

What PSU do you have, how did you connect the powercords to the card?
Did you use 2x 6-pin connectors or did you use some converter that converts 2x 4-pin into 1x 6-pin?
If you used the converter it is important to use 4-pin connectors from different cords, otherwhise the card will get too little power and it make games freeze, crash and the famous BSOD.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-20-2010, 04:21 PM
Splyce: Now that you mention it, it is behaving as if somethi8nhg is overheating. I don't think it is the CPU because the computer doesn't black out all together. It has to be the video card given the behavior of the computer when the screen freezes. I initially cannot boot, but if I let it sit for a while, it will boot up until that heat threshold is hit again and it freezes all over again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skuggan
You could clock it down to make it cooler, or even better you can get a better cooler for it, it can be dangerous to mount a new cooler if you dont have experience doing so, slightest failure can destroy the card permanently.
How can I do this?

Quote:
But a warning about the 190 drivers from NVidia, they contain memory leaks that makes your card work harder than intended, resulting in extreme temperatures. The latest 196.21 fixes that and increases the performance.
I did notice a performance increase.

Quote:
Also, did you install this card yourself?
Yes.

Quote:
What PSU do you have, how did you connect the powercords to the card?
Did you use 2x 6-pin connectors or did you use some converter that converts 2x 4-pin into 1x 6-pin?
If you used the converter it is important to use 4-pin connectors from different cords, otherwhise the card will get too little power and it make games freeze, crash and the famous BSOD.
Not sure what a PSU is, but I used the 2 x 6 pin converters.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-20-2010, 04:24 PM
PSU is your power supply.

Lets just see if the GPU or the CPU are overheating first - if they're not, then there's no need for coolers or underclocking.......
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-20-2010, 04:26 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splyce View Post
PSU is your power supply.

Lets just see if the GPU or the CPU are overheating first - if they're not, then there's no need for coolers or underclocking.......
I am certain it is the GPU
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-20-2010, 04:34 PM
welllllllll...... get us some temp readings
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-20-2010, 04:41 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splyce View Post
welllllllll...... get us some temp readings
Ok, Ok...Stand by When it does freeze, it will be a while before I can get the data to you.

Actually...later tonight or tomorrow. Am updating vista with latest patches and trying a new download of the latest driver as well before I begin.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:46 AM.