Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Get Rid Of "Special Keys"
02-26-2010, 01:45 PM
Anyone who has tried to remap thier keys knows how limited these stupid "Special Keys" are. Why can't we map to the num9 or num0 keys? Or any other keys on the keyboard? Sure it's nice that they included the extra mouse buttons....for a select few that have mice with those buttons, but what about the other 40-50 keys on the keyboard?

I want to be able to map any action to any keyboard key.

Don't you?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-26-2010, 01:48 PM
Yes, this annoyed me the other night. I don't understand the numerous limitations they placed with the UI and key bindings. It makes no logical sense, even from a gameplay standpoint.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-26-2010, 01:55 PM
I'm not sure about remapping ANY key, but I make extensive use of the numpad keys in my own custom keybinds. Make sure you don't have numlock on, as the keybindings don't like that, and, irionically, I think numlock needs to be ON for it to recognize the command once it's bound properly...

...but I KNOW you can keybind numpad keys, as every one of my space powers is bound thusly.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-26-2010, 02:24 PM
my only real problem with the keybinds... is that I can't bind a key to 'set rally point', as the option to do so simply doesn't exist, and I have yet to find a slash-command that can do it. :-\
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-26-2010, 03:13 PM
I wish I could bind keys to my side mouse buttons. Never been able to get it to work for the Logitech MX-518
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-26-2010, 04:30 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghartan
I wish I could bind keys to my side mouse buttons. Never been able to get it to work for the Logitech MX-518
You can bind those as Mouse 4 and Mouse 5, they're definitely in the list, as I use them for Fire All Beams and Fire All Torpedoes. They work fine on my MS SIdewinder mouse.

Though you may have to check how they're configured in your mouse driver. If I recall correctly my old Logitech mouse made a distinction in the driver between "browser back" , "browser forward" and "button 4", "button 5" respectively.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-26-2010, 06:12 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoxe
I'm not sure about remapping ANY key, but I make extensive use of the numpad keys in my own custom keybinds. Make sure you don't have numlock on, as the keybindings don't like that, and, irionically, I think numlock needs to be ON for it to recognize the command once it's bound properly...

...but I KNOW you can keybind numpad keys, as every one of my space powers is bound thusly.
Why not remap any key? Maybe I'm missing a finger or I'm handicapped in some way. Maybe I'm left handed. Maybe it's just eaiser for me to have things mapped differently than you. Why not make it easy for everyone to play rather than just the old "One size fits all". Just because a certain mapping works well for one person certainly doesn't mean it will work well for everyone.

Yes I have numberpad 1-8 bound...but 9, 0, +, -, *, /, and . don't seem to have the option. Is there some way to bind those keys? Why not just have it so you just click on the action to bind and then press a key on your keyboard and it binds it? That's the way most games work.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-26-2010, 06:27 PM
You CAN remap pretty much any key.

When you are in the "rebind" screen simply highlight the action you want to remap and press the key you would like it mapped to.
I mean, there are a few keys that maybe you can't remap but I'm pretty sure you can do most.

I think that maybe you are looking at only the mouse remapping options when you see "special keys". Those are only for remapping to the mouse, but you are not limited to mapping only to the mouse.

eg; I have "switch weapon" mapped to my "R" key and "fire torpedos" mapped to the "F" key.

I also have +/- set up for camera zoom.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-27-2010, 07:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Leadbottom
You CAN remap pretty much any key.

When you are in the "rebind" screen simply highlight the action you want to remap and press the key you would like it mapped to.
I mean, there are a few keys that maybe you can't remap but I'm pretty sure you can do most.

I think that maybe you are looking at only the mouse remapping options when you see "special keys". Those are only for remapping to the mouse, but you are not limited to mapping only to the mouse.

eg; I have "switch weapon" mapped to my "R" key and "fire torpedos" mapped to the "F" key.

I also have +/- set up for camera zoom.
I'm afraid you are mistaken. Try to map Skill #9 to numpad9 - you can't do it. That's the problem, the "Special Keys" dialog pops up and gets in the way on alot of the actions. That is what I'm talking about and I would like it removed so that I can enter the keyboard button I would like to assign.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-28-2010, 03:00 AM
I don't see the problem with keybindings except I can't hide them

just click the box and type the key u want to bind that box with
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:22 PM.