Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 21
03-03-2010, 10:56 AM
Thanks for the suggestion Trekker. I believe I have DirectX 11 but I will try the updater anyways and see if that helps.

I haven't tried the Catalyst 10.3 beta drivers yet but will tonight if DX11 update doesn't help.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 22
03-04-2010, 04:28 AM
Well, last night I tried the Catalyst 10.3 beta drivers AND updated my DirectX to the latest version yet still crash on those damn interior ground missions with the grating on the floor. These are the only places I get any issues at all.

Once again I tried disabling dynamic lighting and shadows and all my issues are resolved. So strange. It's not a big deal to disable those settings but I would at least like to be able to play with dynamic lighting turned on.

I'm not sure if this is an issue with the Catalyst driver and 57XX/58XX series cards or how the game is coded or both. Oh well for now I guess I'll be playing those missions with dynamic lighting and shadows off.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 23
03-04-2010, 06:32 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyFlash View Post
Well, last night I tried the Catalyst 10.3 beta drivers AND updated my DirectX to the latest version yet still crash on those damn interior ground missions with the grating on the floor. These are the only places I get any issues at all.

Once again I tried disabling dynamic lighting and shadows and all my issues are resolved. So strange. It's not a big deal to disable those settings but I would at least like to be able to play with dynamic lighting turned on.

I'm not sure if this is an issue with the Catalyst driver and 57XX/58XX series cards or how the game is coded or both. Oh well for now I guess I'll be playing those missions with dynamic lighting and shadows off.
funny im getting the same! i know i replied earlier in thread saying its seams to improved, i thought it had till i got to the same ares as discribed in above reply, as soon as i turn off the dynamic lighting it works fine!!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 24
03-04-2010, 06:43 PM
When you have shadows enabled are you using 8x antialiasing? Have you tried 4x AA? Same for dynamic lighting.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 25
03-06-2010, 07:51 AM
I'm having the same issues with crashes only on interior missions, I also have an XFX Radion HD 5870 1 gb card.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 26
03-06-2010, 08:39 AM
Just updated to the latest DirectX 9.28.1886 and ATI Cat 10.3 beta and on my second away mission it crashed but this time i got this error message:

Fatal Error: Direct3D driver returnted error code (Unknown:0x887601b3) while locking a
texture (2D texture size 256x256 (D3DFMT_DXT5), 4.00GB memory available)

Technical Dteails: (2D texture size 256x256 (D3DFMT_DXT5), 4.00GB memory available

I'm running :
Win 7 64bit
Intel i7 920
9 GB Ram
ATI HD 5870
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 27
03-06-2010, 12:42 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trekker88 View Post
When you have shadows enabled are you using 8x antialiasing? Have you tried 4x AA? Same for dynamic lighting.
I have it set to 4X all the time. I can barely tell the difference between 4X and 8X so I leave it lower for better frames/sec. I have Anisotropic filtering set to 16X usually.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 28
03-06-2010, 11:04 PM
Very perplexing. Risking getting bombed to death I'm gonna say it's an ATi driver issue. (ducks n cover)

Though looking some more maybe it could be an issue with cards with more than 1gb of ram. I see one person had a nvidia 7950gx2 which has 1gb shared. And I know a few ppl with nvidia 280s that had this problem, dunno if they still do, again 1gb+. Now two of my cards 9800gtx with 512mb and 7xxx with 256mb both are running fine. (though that wouldn't explain why I was crashing before i updated my driver ) Very perplexing indeed.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 29
03-07-2010, 04:23 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyFlash View Post
I'm not sure if this is an issue with the Catalyst driver and 57XX/58XX series cards or how the game is coded or both.

nope, had this happen with xfired 3870s. got a pair of 5770 xfired, but i havn't done any ground based missions yet with DL and PP enabled so i can't say if STO'll crash.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 30
03-07-2010, 06:28 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trekker88 View Post
Very perplexing. Risking getting bombed to death I'm gonna say it's an ATi driver issue. (ducks n cover)

Though looking some more maybe it could be an issue with cards with more than 1gb of ram. I see one person had a nvidia 7950gx2 which has 1gb shared. And I know a few ppl with nvidia 280s that had this problem, dunno if they still do, again 1gb+. Now two of my cards 9800gtx with 512mb and 7xxx with 256mb both are running fine. (though that wouldn't explain why I was crashing before i updated my driver ) Very perplexing indeed.

After searching through the forms on this issue and realizing like you said this is happening on both brand of cards more on ATI, I really don't think this anything to do with our cards or drivers but just poorly wriiten code on the developers part. My card HD5870 runs beautifully with all the other games out there no hiccups and smooth frame rates accept for this one. So I don't get why ATI or Nvidia have to run out and write new drivers just for this game shouldn't that be up to the developer to make there game work properly with the cards. I don't know just my thoughts.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:46 AM.