Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Choppy with HD4890
02-23-2010, 03:02 PM
Hey guys,

So I've been upgrading my rigfor the last months, STO being one of the main reasons for this, and today i rounded it up getting a Radeon HD4890 graphics card. After testing it with a few games i had installed (Mass Effect, Farcry 2, Dragon Age, ...) i was really satisfied with the performance (Farcry2 exceeded my expectations, runs perfectly maxed out), i tried launching STO and got really disppointed... the game is running really really choppy like a heavy stutter... I've been playing with the settings (turned off dynamic lighting, tried cutting on AA and AF) but nothing seemed to help. I even tried the settings on minimum and while it was a bit reduced, the stutter is still there even like that.

Hope someone has any idea what could be wrong,
Thanks in advance

Dual-core e8400
ATI Radeon HD4890
2G Ram DDR2
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-27-2010, 02:08 PM
Really? I didn't have any issues when I ran a XFX HD4890. But now I'm running the HD5970 in eyefinity mode. I did run with dynamic lighting off, but everything else was on high settings (I think everything). Game ran very good with that card. I had STO running for almost 24 hours one weekend. No crashes, no issues. Which version of CCC are you running? I cannot remember which one I was running. 10.1? Right now I'm running 10.3 beta. Have you tried 10.2? Also, maybe you need more system memory. Try upgrading to 4gigs. I'm running 8gigs and Windows 7 64bit. What are you running?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-28-2010, 09:48 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyMac View Post
Really? I didn't have any issues when I ran a XFX HD4890. But now I'm running the HD5970 in eyefinity mode. I did run with dynamic lighting off, but everything else was on high settings (I think everything). Game ran very good with that card. I had STO running for almost 24 hours one weekend. No crashes, no issues. Which version of CCC are you running? I cannot remember which one I was running. 10.1? Right now I'm running 10.3 beta. Have you tried 10.2? Also, maybe you need more system memory. Try upgrading to 4gigs. I'm running 8gigs and Windows 7 64bit. What are you running?
Ugh you got a 5970?
Are you rich or something?
That card is smokin....!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
03-01-2010, 06:53 PM
Exact same issue, for me, and I have the same setup, only I'm using a 4830. Your card is better, definitely, but neither of us should be stuttering. It only happens for me in ground combat, normally when fighting. Some maps will stutter just by me moving around (when I'm getting consistent 45+ fps). It makes no sense.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-02-2010, 01:33 AM
they arent top end cards u know=p
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
03-02-2010, 03:11 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blixt
they arent top end cards u know=p
A 4890 is still very much so a top end card. Top end in that it can run anything on the market on maximum settings at a reasonable resolution. It's not future proof for much longer though.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
03-04-2010, 03:33 AM
Im running a 3870 with no trouble, full detail and shadows. Try updating your drivers to the new 10.2 if you havn't already www.ati.com also make sure dynamic lighting is offas it causes a crash, this issue is being looked into. Are your cards X2 models? If so try running on just one core, thats more than enough for the game but I do no someone with a 3870x2 who can only get good FPS with one core.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 AM.