Lt. Commander
# 1 My take on the atari deal
03-03-2010, 07:30 PM
Not that anyone gives a crap about my opinion, but here it is anyway.

what are we talking about really? Cryptic is doing everything they can to make sure this game stays around for us and for them. it is to both our benefits that a lot of people play. Us for the chance to play in an expanding Star Trek Universe, and theirs so they can afford to have employees.

So what does it really amount to? Well its 2 months (we get a free month as well), and a 10$ discount on the game. That's 25$. Are we really gonna lynch them for 25$? That's dinner at Applebee's for you and the kids. Was it the best thing for them to do? probably not, but I don't blame them for trying, and they are trying as hard as they can.

I can tell you that with assurance because I am an MMO developer (not for cryptic), currently working on my 4th title. I cant believe my eyes when I have seen what they have done in 18 months with their staff size. They must have been working 12-16 hour days for most of that time. I'm betting they are pulling those hours right now even as I type to get out content, bug fixes and public postings at the rate in which they seem to be producing.

Of course i'm sure that for some of you this wont matter at all, that 25$ is your soap box and from it you will condemn them for being awful developers, and me for being a fan boy. I hope however some of you consider this a little bit and give these guys a break, they are trying to provide us with a descent game experience, as well as keep food on the table.
Lt. Commander
# 2
03-03-2010, 07:34 PM
Which MMO do you develop for? I don't ask for the interest of the topic I ask as I'm a 3d modeler and would be curious. PM me if you care to.
Lt. Commander
# 3
03-03-2010, 07:35 PM
Yes I agree, I'm sure the people actually creating the game have been working very long hours. I think the frustration was misdirected by some.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pneumonic81 View Post