Go Back   Star Trek Online > Feedback > Builds, Powers, and Game Mechanics
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I was wondering Beam Overload applies a fixed damage value, or is it multiplied by the number of beams used? Does it even use multiple beams or does it(when using fire all beams), or does it just overload a singular beam only.

If it only overloads a single beam, which beam will it overload when using fire all beams? Is it slot 1, or is it random, or is it just the next beam that fires?

I also guess its safe to assume that my cannons arent doing much more than tickling my target once my weapon's bar drops to zero.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-08-2010, 11:35 AM
I've had it show 2 banks firring over load a few times back in OB when I used it.

Couldn't tell if it actually fired twice or not. I think it might just be a latency or server communication issue.

Even if it does fire twice, with the about of weapon energy you have left after the first you'll likely not have a lot of juice left.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-08-2010, 01:48 PM
BO only effects one beam and its your next beam fired. Its a huge percentage increase on that one beams damage. for best results use a dual beam with maxed weapons power. t4 with a mk VIII dual beam and 115 power on BO III I've gotten hits upwards of 18k. I've seen reports as high as 25-30k
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
03-09-2010, 02:41 AM
I know that in OB it used to effect one fore beam and one aft beam if they were firing together. Not sure if it still does.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-09-2010, 11:25 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Faelerian
I know that in OB it used to effect one fore beam and one aft beam if they were firing together. Not sure if it still does.
that's how I recall it as well, but did it actually give both a bonus?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
03-09-2010, 12:14 PM
It affects your next attack, ie one beam only.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
03-09-2010, 03:51 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raso
that's how I recall it as well, but did it actually give both a bonus?
I can confirm it used to effect both in OB, but only if they were fired together. Two sets of 20k+ damage is hard to miss in the combat log. May have been fixed since then; been a long time since I used it on anything but a single dual beam bank on the front of an escort.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:39 AM.