Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Nettest
03-12-2010, 03:55 AM
I finally heard back from Tech Support on the Rubber Banding Issue and most of it was the usual stuff. I did run the Nettest as they said but it times out every time I try to run it. I guess this is not a good thing. Also here is they entire reply I received in my email.

Greetings!

Here are some basic steps to check if you are having trouble staying connected
to the Servers.

1.) If you are using a wireless connection, disable the wireless

connection and connect to your router or modem with a network cable and

confirm that you have internet with the wired connection.

2.) Make sure to close all other programs including programs that run in

the system tray (the little icons next to your clock).

3.) If you have a software firewall please make sure it is allowing all

network traffic (by not blocking any ports) and shut it down and make

sure it is no longer running.

4.) If you have any software that monitors web/network connections

disable the monitoring and shut them down or uninstall them. Some common
programs that block/monitor network traffic are Zone Alarm, Net Nanny,
Ad-Aware, Windows Defender, Kaspersky, Snort, Wireshark, Norton products,
McAfee products, Eset Nod32, Trend Micro products, Barracuda products, Panda
Internet Security, AntiVir, F-Secure, CA Anti-Virus Plus.

5.) Also check for the Nvidia Firewall program, the Google tool bar and Google
Desktop and uninstall these programs.

6.) Run the nettest tool

a.) Download the tool by clicking this link and save it to your desktop

http://files.champions-online.com/nettest.exe

b.) Double click the file and let the program run

c.) If any of the numbers in the third column come back as less than 100 KB/sec
then the port listed in the second column are being blocked. Check your network
monitoring software again to make sure they have an exception for our game.

7.) Try the Cryptic Proxy:

a.) Start the game client

b.) Enter your username and password

c.) Let the game patch if needed

d.) Click on the Options button at the top of the launcher screen and change
the Proxy drop down to EU or US

e.) Click Play!

8.) Once you find the program or piece of hardware that was blocking
communication to our servers, please make the appropriate exceptions with that
software/hardware and make sure you enable your Anti virus/Protection software
again.

- Cryptic Studios Technical Support
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-12-2010, 07:06 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rithisak View Post
I finally heard back from Tech Support on the Rubber Banding Issue and most of it was the usual stuff. I did run the Nettest as they said but it times out every time I try to run it. I guess this is not a good thing.
Make sure you run nettest by right clicking the file and choose Run as administrator. Also make sure nettest.exe can connection outbound to the Internet on your PC software firewall and antivirus security programs.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-12-2010, 11:02 AM
I added nettest to allow on my windows firewall at least I think I did and I deacctivated my Avast Pro Antivirus can't figure out how to allow individual programs on it so i just shut it down when I get ready to run something and I right clicked and ran nettest as administrator and it still timed out.

NOTE: I was able to play about an hour today till the problem started again.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
04-07-2010, 11:16 PM
I am having the same problem. I ran the tracer thing and everything came back at 500 or more.
Tracer:
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Chryss>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.25]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms 1 ms xxx.xxx.x.x
2 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms xxx.xxx.x.x
3 626 ms 579 ms 668 ms host174320066128.direcway.com [174.32.128.66]
4 816 ms * 527 ms host174320029128.direcway.com [174.32.128.29]
5 884 ms 579 ms 569 ms ip65-46-57-21.z57-46-65.customer.algx.net [65.46
.57.21]
6 666 ms 558 ms 599 ms ge11-1-7d0.mcr1.saltlake-ut.us.xo.net [216.156.6
.137]
7 976 ms 719 ms 678 ms vb1610.rar3.denver-co.us.xo.net [216.156.0.1]
8 756 ms 1158 ms 1148 ms te-4-1-0.rar3.chicago-il.us.xo.net [207.88.12.21
]
9 598 ms 778 ms 1158 ms ae0d0.mcr2.cambridge-ma.us.xo.net [216.156.0.30]

10 947 ms 748 ms 739 ms ae1d0.mcr1.cambridge-ma.us.xo.net [216.156.1.13]

11 896 ms 1148 ms 1168 ms 216.55.4.18
12 635 ms 748 ms 629 ms patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.184.25]

Trace complete.

Then I downloaded and ran the nettest program and it timed out every time I tried running it.
I turned my windows firewall completely off and it still didn't get any better. Then I turned the firewall back on and figured out how to allow programs individually. Still no luck.

I'm using Hughesnet because it's the only thing available where I live (apart from dial-up) and Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit. I get into the game and can't get past the mess hall. The rubber banding is that bad. I can't even get far enough to not see the opening cinematic anymore. My friend's WoW plays on our internet connection without trouble. I have no idea what to do. I don't know what the solution is for any of this or even where to start.
Thanks in advance to anyone who is able to help.

WalkingRaven
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
04-07-2010, 11:31 PM
I haven't had any major rubber banding issues of late. Just once in late evening but for the most part I have been able to game till I get tired and log out and I haven't changed or done anything different and I still can't get net test to run but even though it has gotten better for me I still think I will try Verizon for their 30 day trial.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
04-08-2010, 04:12 AM
Satetlite connections because of the inherent latency is very unrelieable to play this game. Also because of the nature of the connection Hughes does traffic shape. Both items work agaisnt you in maintaining the continuos connection needed to play.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
04-11-2010, 01:04 AM
:nods: So there's nothing I can do to fix this? :kicks HughesNet: Does Verizon Wireless Internest support online gaming?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
04-11-2010, 01:22 AM
Well I contacted them and told them I would be doing mostly gaming and their response wasn't negative. They did says to get their booster to ensure I got the strongest signal and I am not that far from their tower so with the 30 day trial it's not gonna hurt to try. My contract with Hughes is up in may so if ya want I can be the Guinea pig. I did do a few hours of gaming yesterday during a pretty high traffic period and only banded once at the tailor in sol but was perfectly fine the rest of the time till I logged. Don't know why it's getting better for me since I am on Hughes net too like you and others I know and it's not getting better for you guys. I haven't made any changes so I don't have a clue I just hope it continues to get better for me and hope it starts to improve for you guys cause I know we all love playing this game and it drives us crazy when these problems arise.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
04-12-2010, 11:24 AM
I have same problem that started few days ago.
Same PC, same connection, same ISP as before.......
Lagg became so extreeme that I move with 5-10 seconds delay after I click a move button.
Problem is not only ingame, it takes 2 minutes to open a forum page.
Interesting thing is that my connection works perfectly on any other web page, speed test etc....only have problems accessing STO related stuff so I can exclude ISP problems.

Even when I launch STO application I get message:
This program cannot display the webpage.

Like I said, it all started 2-3 days ago and nothing was changed or installed on my PC.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 PM.