Lt. Commander
Point of Clarification: I am not advocating STO become either Casual OR Hardcore. It can be both, but only if its done well. If it can't, then a discovery of what this game's identity should be may be prudent.
Quote:
Originally Posted by faymar
Okay I will be the first to admit I am not a veteran mmo player, CO was my first MMO, I am also not a kid I have a husband kids a career the works. The only reason I mention this is to show I am a responsible intelligent adult that doesnít get confused easily, but I have to say Cryptics MMO community confuses the hell out of me in what they want.

You don't want STO to be easy peezy I get that
Yet I saw some of you raise total hell over what you called Champions Online "War on fun" when the developers made the game harder.

You want Open PVP
You don't want Open PVP

You want Exploration
You don't want it to become boring text boxes without action.

If i was a developer I would be a little bit confused too, form an outsiders point of view it looks like you guys can't come to a consensus of what you want and no matter what the devs do someone will be ****ed..

Not trying to rock the Cryptic you suck boat..Iím just sayin.
You are right Faymar.

However these varying differences in opinion is also partly Cryptic's fault. While they may have tentative plans for where they want this game to go, they have little clear direction (it seems) on what they want this game to be.

STO - A Casual MMO?

The game is SEEMINGLY geared toward the casual gaming audience. In that
  • progression time is short
  • gameplay is linear and themepark style
  • general game mechanics are over simplified (spacebar mashing).

STO - Gamer's/AAA MMORPG?
However, the game lacks accessibility effectively making it not a casual MMO. The skill sets, the confusing stat modifiers, and how they affect performance basically not only confuse the hell out of you, but out of a good many others as well.