Go Back   Star Trek Online > Feedback > Builds, Powers, and Game Mechanics
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Is this really an intended side affect of Scramble Sensors?

Occasionally I'm shooting a ship I have targeted. Someone on the other team uses scramble, and now everyone's a neutral target. Ok fine, annoying, but I just pick my targets carefully. So I start shooting at my selected target, maybe launch an ability or two and... I shoot at something off screen.

Usually it's an ally in pvp, strangely enough. Regardless, I didn't deselect my target, it's still clearly marked as my primary. Auto assist is off in my options if that matters. And I'm not using auto target. Many times I notice that my target isn't even targeting the one I shot.

Fine, so I clear the target and reselect carefully. Hit spacebar...

And one of my beams/torpedoes still shoots at an ally. This isn't and never was a mistake on my part. It's shooting a fresh beam at something not selected.

I don't recall seeing this behavior from scramble a few patches ago. Does anyone remember this happening for sure in the past, or has it cropped up in the past couple weeks?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
04-22-2010, 11:50 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otheym81 View Post
Is this really an intended side affect of Scramble Sensors?

Occasionally I'm shooting a ship I have targeted. Someone on the other team uses scramble, and now everyone's a neutral target. Ok fine, annoying, but I just pick my targets carefully. So I start shooting at my selected target, maybe launch an ability or two and... I shoot at something off screen.

Usually it's an ally in pvp, strangely enough. Regardless, I didn't deselect my target, it's still clearly marked as my primary. Auto assist is off in my options if that matters. And I'm not using auto target. Many times I notice that my target isn't even targeting the one I shot.

Fine, so I clear the target and reselect carefully. Hit spacebar...

And one of my beams/torpedoes still shoots at an ally. This isn't and never was a mistake on my part. It's shooting a fresh beam at something not selected.

I don't recall seeing this behavior from scramble a few patches ago. Does anyone remember this happening for sure in the past, or has it cropped up in the past couple weeks?
I'm fairly certain its new, I've not had as much trouble throwing my heals and shots as recently. I thought it was just me though.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
04-23-2010, 12:16 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by faithborn
I'm fairly certain its new, I've not had as much trouble throwing my heals and shots as recently. I thought it was just me though.
Glad I'm not crazy.


Well, maybe I am, but I'm not hallucinating




Excuse me, John Lennon's calling me..
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
04-23-2010, 12:51 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otheym81 View Post
Is this really an intended side affect of Scramble Sensors?

Occasionally I'm shooting a ship I have targeted. Someone on the other team uses scramble, and now everyone's a neutral target. Ok fine, annoying, but I just pick my targets carefully. So I start shooting at my selected target, maybe launch an ability or two and... I shoot at something off screen.

Usually it's an ally in pvp, strangely enough. Regardless, I didn't deselect my target, it's still clearly marked as my primary. Auto assist is off in my options if that matters. And I'm not using auto target. Many times I notice that my target isn't even targeting the one I shot.

Fine, so I clear the target and reselect carefully. Hit spacebar...

And one of my beams/torpedoes still shoots at an ally. This isn't and never was a mistake on my part. It's shooting a fresh beam at something not selected.

I don't recall seeing this behavior from scramble a few patches ago. Does anyone remember this happening for sure in the past, or has it cropped up in the past couple weeks?

your auto fire maybe set to closest target
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
04-23-2010, 11:30 AM
I've experienced this quite a bit, and it's very annoying. I think I've had some success working around it by double-clicking targets to fire at them, but I'm not sure even that works 100% (clicking on stuff in general doesn't work 100% in this game).

It also seems to throw heals and friendly-support abilities at random things on occasion, so my carrier keeps extending shields on its fighters and other fun things.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
04-24-2010, 06:32 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgecase View Post
It also seems to throw heals and friendly-support abilities at random things on occasion, so my carrier keeps extending shields on its fighters and other fun things.
This. The most annoying fact is, if I deselect everything, got nothing on auto-fire or shooting, and then want to apply science team on myself, it sometimes casts on a near enemy. And I have this auto assist thing disabled.

And sometimes it breaks the extend shields I have active on an ally. Maybe the ally gets hostile for the blink of a second before he changes to neutral/allied and thats where I lose it.

But I haven't figured out when this things actually occur. Sometimes scramble works like always, no problem for anyone who knows who to target and is careful, but then sometimes it actively overrides your given command, and that's annoying and awkward.

The only benefit of scramble sensors is that I often see cloaked enemies now as allies and therefore through their cloak. A well timed ramming speed and/or high yield salvo can end this poors guys life before he knew what happened.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
04-24-2010, 08:41 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roter_Panda
This. The most annoying fact is, if I deselect everything, got nothing on auto-fire or shooting, and then want to apply science team on myself, it sometimes casts on a near enemy. And I have this auto assist thing disabled.
The other thing I've sort of noticed is that it seems not to take effect until you deselect the target you had when the effect BEGINS. I can keep shooting the same target indefinitely, but if I stop to heal or attack a different enemy, I start getting the random effect.

That said, I'm going to try disabling "target nearest" because I think I left that on. It's also possible that it's a pure % effect whether it retargets or not.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
04-24-2010, 12:37 PM
i consider this skill to be worse than VM, VM at least i can aim my engineering team.

scramble sensors gives me the false hope that I can actually aim my artillery (uh, wow that sounded dirty) and throw heals reliably

it completely hoses my player ability, last three times i tried to clear it with science team I ended up meaning the difference in health and an enemy ended up living. ya... not lying there.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
04-24-2010, 01:42 PM
in the options screen, under controls, there should be an option there that says something along the lines of "auto target highest threat". if its on thats your main problem. the game's threat generation system is part dps, part proximity. in the case of sensor scramble, ive seen way too often that proximity seems to outweigh dps, because if i leave it on and unattended, the autotarget decides to pick on the ally science vessel thats .3 km from me rather than the escort thats 2.2km away.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
04-24-2010, 02:12 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by NinJarate
in the options screen, under controls, there should be an option there that says something along the lines of "auto target highest threat". if its on thats your main problem. the game's threat generation system is part dps, part proximity. in the case of sensor scramble, ive seen way too often that proximity seems to outweigh dps, because if i leave it on and unattended, the autotarget decides to pick on the ally science vessel thats .3 km from me rather than the escort thats 2.2km away.
I have this option off, so that's not the problem.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 AM.