Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Graphical and Sound Issues
Login

Lt. Commander
Ok I have a completely new Dell System that is top of the line. I have the 5800 series radeon graphics card, i7 processor and 12 gigs of ram.

Yet when I play STO my character has little black slashmarks around the edges of his form making him appear to be "Out of Phase" with the rest of reality. This happens also with objects in space while in ship mode.

What gives? Is this a hardware problem or a settings issue? Is it a driver problem? Please help me because the customer service from this company is absolutely HORRIBLE! Actually its non-extistant so this is pretty much my only option.
Lt. Commander
# 2
04-29-2010, 09:12 AM
I just got my new rig and it has a 5750 ati video card, i7 processor...at any rate, when I started playing the game with it I was expecting amazement but I got this same hashing effect on the edges of my toons and ship.

The only way I've found to fix it so far is to turn off the setting called Screen Ambient Space Occlusion.

Do that and your picture will turn sparkling clear. I think the card must not support that kind of shading.
Lt. Commander
# 3
04-29-2010, 04:04 PM
I made that change you suggested and it helped a bit but i still have the "black slashmarks around the edges of objects" phenomenon. Especially around asteroids in space missions.

The customer service staff here is totally asleep at the wheel, if they actually exist. This is outrageous that they would have such poor customer service for an MMO.

For the amount of money being paid I expect this game to run with crystal clear graphics.

Anyone else encounter this problem? Any suggestions?
Lt. Commander
# 4 Hash Marks
04-30-2010, 03:40 AM
AdSin15, did you try updating your drivers? I tried updating mine last night and my performance actually went down due to it.

I'm going to investigate this the best I can. I'll let you know if I figure anything out.