Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 221
02-09-2011, 09:06 AM
Unfortunately I've done that, along with re-installing the software, changing computers, staying logged out for hours, and using the phone, no external client works only for receiving tells (but everyone else is fine) so it sounds like an issue with my account. I've asked them to just wipe the test account if they need to. Will see what happens.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 222
02-09-2011, 12:41 PM
Alright, If anyone else runs into this in the future (don't use imov it is broken)

I fixed it by changing my status via pidgin to "invisible" and then "offline" then "online" and it worked, so whatever imov did it borked my status. I got the idea because a fleetmate who also uses pidgin said that even though he saw me typing in our channel that according to him I wasn't online. Logging on and off didn't fix it but using the client to change status did.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 223 Monal Question
02-10-2011, 11:02 AM
Hi all,

My fleetmate Crimsonspot helped me get an account set up for crypticspace.com on the Monal iPhone app, and, while my online friends list populates my Monal "buddy list", I can't seem to figure out how to get Monal to display the ongoing chat going on in a particular chat channel my fleet uses in STO.

Is there anyone using Monal right now who might have some suggestions on how to monitor a particular chat channel, or, if it's even possible using Monal?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 224
02-11-2011, 02:53 PM
sorry @Savesh i don't have an apple device to test monal with.

@CrimsonSpot it's funny i experienced the same problem you did after i tried to help you fix yours the other night.

my channel friends kept telling my my user name was something like IM+94568edfe@Russell-KV4S even though i had Russelll in the Resource of both my Jabiru and Pidgin client. i didn't know what the problem was until someone told me i wasn't responding to their PM's (or Tell's).

I did not have an invisible option on pidgin so i just shuffled statuses from away to busy ect... and went offline and online and pidgin seemed to start working for tells and name. (which i never verified it wasn't working on pidgin) When I logged back onto Jabiru everything was acting normal there too. my prefix was back to what i had in my resource field and i was able to get tells again.

I do not believe IMov caused the problem you described @CrimsonSpot but what i think happened is one of the IM clients didn't close the server session correctly causing it to hang up. Apparently initiating a status change clears it. of coarse that is all speculation.

However, I agree if you are going to use an Android client for STO use Jabiru and not IMov
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 225
02-11-2011, 03:00 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russell-KV4S
I do not believe IMov caused the problem you described @CrimsonSpot but what i think happened is one of the IM clients didn't close the server session correctly causing it to hang up.
That's what imov did. It refused to connect and I even had to "force shutdown" on it after about 5 minutes, but apparently it hung the server session open on me.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 226
02-11-2011, 04:22 PM
Does anyone know how to join a channel with s space in it?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 227
02-11-2011, 05:05 PM
I've got the answer thanks, its a simple +
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 228
03-05-2011, 01:44 PM
Similar question: how do I join a channel with a backslash (/) or apostrophe (') in it?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 229
03-08-2011, 03:51 PM
Sigh, no idea what I'm doing wrong on Android. I can't get Jabiru to connect, yet my old old copy of imov messenger corporate (which was the only thing that worked at the time for me) is still the only thing that works for me, everything else says failure to connect.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 230
03-09-2011, 06:07 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tsusai View Post
Sigh, no idea what I'm doing wrong on Android. I can't get Jabiru to connect, yet my old old copy of imov messenger corporate (which was the only thing that worked at the time for me) is still the only thing that works for me, everything else says failure to connect.
Jabiru is still working great for me, did you use this post?
http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...&postcount=198
the account is your holodeck logon credentials.
the channels use your actual @handle in game.

Here are some screen shots if it helps:
http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/f...TO/jabiru1.png
http://i241.photobucket.com/albums/f...TO/jabiru2.png
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:45 AM.