Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 141
11-29-2010, 10:18 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roach View Post
/Bind F1 GenButtonClick PowerLevel_Preset_0
/Bind F2 GenButtonClick PowerLevel_Preset_1
/Bind F3 GenButtonClick PowerLevel_Preset_2
/Bind F4 GenButtonClick PowerLevel_Preset_3


of course the F-keys can be changed to your preferances.
You da man Roach. Thanks!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 142
11-29-2010, 12:59 PM
What is the benefit of the "+" sign in front of "TrayExecByTray x y"

What is the benefit of "TrayexecByTray x y" over "TraySlot x y"(I think thats the command, I need to heck when I get home)

My biggest problem, is that I can't trust formore than 1 or 2 fo my functions to activate while I'm pulling the trigger in my cannon boat.

If I perfectlystill and quiet, I can get 4 to go off pretty routinly...is there a command that insures they all go off or any way is as good as the other?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 143
11-29-2010, 01:02 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatricianVetinari
You da man Roach. Thanks!
Just pulled it from old notes, Your Welcome.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 144
11-29-2010, 01:07 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by cocoa-jin View Post
What is the benefit of the "+" sign in front of "TrayExecByTray x y"

What is the benefit of "TrayexecByTray x y" over "TraySlot x y"(I think thats the command, I need to heck when I get home)

My biggest problem, is that I can't trust formore than 1 or 2 fo my functions to activate while I'm pulling the trigger in my cannon boat.

If I perfectlystill and quiet, I can get 4 to go off pretty routinly...is there a command that insures they all go off or any way is as good as the other?
I'm confused by your statement-sorry. Are you saying that the Keybinds you use do not work properly?

Are you aware of the key-spamming needed to make multiple slot keybinds work? such that say a key bind to use slots 1 thru 4 on tray one would have to be spammed 4 or more times to get all the powers to function (cooldowns not withstanding) and that it usually works fairly well.
I have noticed that sometimes the keybind will activate slots out of order in comparision to how they are layed out in the keybind.

Not meaning to sound overly-critical, just been one of those Mondays.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 145
11-29-2010, 01:38 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roach View Post
...Are you aware of the key-spamming needed to make multiple slot keybinds work? such that say a key bind to use slots 1 thru 4 on tray one would have to be spammed 4 or more times to get all the powers to function (cooldowns not withstanding) and that it usually works fairly well. I have noticed that sometimes the keybind will activate slots out of order in comparision to how they are layed out in the keybind...
I have seen this all the time. My escort gun boats have 3-5 powers all bound to the "1" key. Sometimes when I press 1 once it triggers all the powers, but normally only one or two (in a random order, no less). I've just got in the habit of quickly pressing 1 three times. This ensures all powers are triggered and the delay is near enough to zero as to be inconsequential.

My attack runs begin with 1-1-1, tapped-out in a rapid staccato...
...and then Hell is unleashed.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 146
11-29-2010, 03:37 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roach View Post
I'm confused by your statement-sorry. Are you saying that the Keybinds you use do not work properly?

Are you aware of the key-spamming needed to make multiple slot keybinds work? such that say a key bind to use slots 1 thru 4 on tray one would have to be spammed 4 or more times to get all the powers to function (cooldowns not withstanding) and that it usually works fairly well.
I have noticed that sometimes the keybind will activate slots out of order in comparision to how they are layed out in the keybind.

Not meaning to sound overly-critical, just been one of those Mondays.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PatricianVetinari
I have seen this all the time. My escort gun boats have 3-5 powers all bound to the "1" key. Sometimes when I press 1 once it triggers all the powers, but normally only one or two (in a random order, no less). I've just got in the habit of quickly pressing 1 three times. This ensures all powers are triggered and the delay is near enough to zero as to be inconsequential.

My attack runs begin with 1-1-1, tapped-out in a rapid staccato...
...and then Hell is unleashed.
I figured it was the norm, but I had some people say they dont know what Im talking about.

Its not much of a problem when I use them offensivly....but when I'm trying to use them defensivly, it would sometimes be critical which command popped first. Perhaps not so much now, bu in the days of uber burst(1.5 -2 secs from first weapon impact to death), it meant the difference between gettinga shield arc up and re-gened before thw HYT salvo salmmed into my hull, or having the other skills going, but with a dead shield arc...I coul dalmost see my hull fold in around the impacts, right before I popped.

EDIT:
Now that I'm back in BoP, Its even more critical that my defense pop as intended...because whatever I have is designed to last just long enough to get me out of a pinch.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 147
11-29-2010, 04:00 PM
Firstly, thanks to all who have contributed to this thread, I have found it very useful.

Onto a question if I may. I would like to bind a key (say F10), so that when I press it, it binds another key (say F9) to target whoever is currently targeted when I pressed the F10 key.

I realise I probably didn't explain that very well, so here is what I am trying to do:

I'm targeting "Maverick" and blasting away at him but need to temporarily target one of my team "Goose" to give him a heal and then jump back to targeting "Maverick" to carry on the attack.

Changing to target "Goose" is easy, since being on my team, he will be one of the F2-F5 keys but getting back to "Maverick" isn't, unless "Maverick" is either the closest enemy to me or being targeted by "Goose".

I can of course manually bind a key to each of the opposition at the start of a match but that is something I might not have time for every match.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 148 Macro Keyboards
11-29-2010, 10:59 PM
Thanks all for the great info; I think one of the best parts of STO is the forums!

QUESTION - using a gaming keyboard (just got a Logitech G110) can I achieve the same result as using keybinds.

I've mapped most of my tray abilities/items to specific keys, now using this keyboard it seems I'm able to create key combinations and tell them to happen at different times or in combinations, or repeat, etc. Is this the same effect as key binding? Is there any advantage of doing it with keybinds instead of a gaming keyboard?

Please excuse the sophomoric nature of this questions; I'm relatively new to computer gaming...but a long-time lover of Trek.

Thanks in advance for your responses.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 149
11-30-2010, 02:00 AM
I would assume (I don't have a programmable keyboard so don't know for sure) that if your Logitec lets you program multiple key presses to a single key, you could setup similar commands to the key binds mentioned in this thread. If you can make it have a small pause between sending each one of the multiple key commands then you could avoid the problems people have where binding multiple commands to a key results in some of those actions not firing reliably and thus having to spam the same keypress.

Additionally, if you can set up a key to auto repeat, you could for instance set up a re-distribute shields key, so that once you press it it sends that command every second or two until you press it again = auto re-distributing shields.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 150
11-30-2010, 02:14 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by DogsBody
Onto a question if I may. I would like to bind a key (say F10), so that when I press it, it binds another key (say F9) to target whoever is currently targeted when I pressed the F10 key.
Just taking a stab but I would imagine

/bind KEY "bind KEY2 target $target"

*checks*

nope. just binds $target to the second key


just playing around with similar bindy things $target wouldn't cut it anyway would just get saved as $target rather than the targets name, $target only seems to work while actually saying the target. With my (limited) understanding of keybinds I don't think it's currently possible without manually putting in their name, someone else with more keybinding understanding might have a solution though.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:37 PM.