Lt. Commander
With all the buzz over bonus items, I just wanted to reiterate something I've been whispering in a few developers' ears for a couple of months but which I wasn't sure was fit for general public consumption because I can see where it would have some problematic arguments from both supporters and detractors.

Moderation is a huge issue on these forums. Maintaining a constructive, positive tone is difficult. This is true on any MMO forum and especially true here where we have a game where player expectations and the reality of the game don't align in some ways... even as marketing eagerly targets new players in ways that make existing some players feel that their commitment isn't given the level of respect they'd prefer. There are a fair number of moderators but even in the lower forum traffic we have now when compared with launch, it seems like they have trouble staying on top of reported threads and posts, much less actively moderating. There is a need for serious community building while it seems to me that marketing remains focused on prospective customers and community managers have a fulltime job acquiring information and trying to communicate the Atari/Cryptic message while relaying concerns back.

We have communicators and we have marketers but I don't feel like we have community leaders aside from the more active posters... and that can sour the whole community when a few of those posters aren't happy.

My proposal is and has been to begin having a weekly drawing for an incentive such as the Galaxy X (or something comparable), a user selected based on constructive forum activity at random.

The core idea is, they select a post from the last week at random and apply the following criteria:

- Is the post 50 words or more? If not, it's disqualified.

- Does the post violate forum TOS? If so, the post is disqualified.

- Has the poster received any infractions in the past 30 days? If so, the post is disqualified.