Go Back   Star Trek Online > Support > Graphical and Sound Issues
Login

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
08-04-2010, 09:48 PM
2900xt 1gb and 5870 2gb both still crash apparently. Could try the x800 x850 and the 1900 if you'd really want though I'd doubt they'd be any different. Though I suppose as before it's bit sporatic. Played a bit before without any, then finally went to try to do assimilation with my science + science team and finally crashed. May be certain effects, no clue. At any rate, still crashing here it seems.
Drivers don't matter, I've updated monthly.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
08-05-2010, 02:06 AM
Man they still haven't fixed this? I was posting in the beta about this for this game for weeks.

I also found out it affects Champions Online too, but not hourly crashes like in STO, but every 4 to 6 hours, probably has to do with the difference in the amount of shadowing between the two games. So whatever this is, it has to do with the game engine not drivers.

Other than that this game is much, much better than launch as it goes for performance stability.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
08-05-2010, 04:36 PM
I have to say nay to the Champions Online comparison. I've recently played from level one to twenty something with all settings maxed with no crash what so ever. I only crash with STOs Dynamic Lighting on. This just makes the whole issue even more confusing.

And even with all this talk about it we haven't gotten an answer in ages. -_-; They must really have their plate full with other issues.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
08-26-2010, 03:03 PM
Anybody tried it with the new 10.8 again?
Iīm still on 10.4 and everything is working fine, donīt want to eff up through "upgrading".
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
08-26-2010, 06:24 PM
I remember a Dev post months ago on this issue. They said that their queries to ATI had gone unanswered. Hard to fix a bug if you can't get a response out of the company responsible for the drivers.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
08-27-2010, 03:51 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonBuck
I remember a Dev post months ago on this issue. They said that their queries to ATI had gone unanswered. Hard to fix a bug if you can't get a response out of the company responsible for the drivers.
I have a hard time accepting that when ATI / AMD is currently advertising Champions Online all over their website with Cryptic's logo. Someone needs to get on this and get it fixed NOW! PLEASE!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
08-28-2010, 12:44 AM
I am happy to report since 10.7 i no longer crash with dynamic lighting full shadows etc
10.8 reduces stuttering to once a map on first use of abilities (ground)with no issues after the first use.
Never had any probs in space at all.
I run everything max at 1900x1200 no issues now

Win 7 64 bit
Ati saphire 5770 1gb
7gb ram
Amd phenom 8750 tripple core
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
08-28-2010, 06:12 AM
How did you upgrade to 10.8?
Did you use the 3rd party removal tools after unistalling the old driver? Which one?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
08-28-2010, 09:10 PM
4870, no issues using Cat 10.7 & 10.8 with dynamic lighting on, 5 lights, 3 shadows

Reboot once after installing Catalyst 10.8 else YouTube video playback will lock your box prior to that once only reboot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivarST
How did you upgrade to 10.8?
Did you use the 3rd party removal tools after unistalling the old driver? Which one?
Launch Catalyst Control Center
Welcome Tab
'Check for driver updates'

If your last driver installation is a certified release, just install the new driver over top of the existing installation.
Uninstall/reboot/safe mode cleaning/etc is unnecessary unless you have a hot fix or beta release installed.

And since a 'Follow CatalystMaker on Twitter' link was officially added to the official welcome screen, I guess it's okay to unofficially tweet him about the status of STO's dynamic lighting. Please be nice.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
08-29-2010, 09:23 PM
I got 10.8, though i have dynamic lights turned off, if i know its fixed, i will turn it on, i had it with games that don't look as good as other games and have issues, while the better looking game runs flawlessly. lol
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:14 AM.