Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Extremely Slow Patch Download
08-05-2010, 08:16 PM
Seriously, 900 Megabytes doesn't take 4 hours on a 1.5MB connection.

Can the rest of America PLEASE get a mirror that's not on the West Coast and overloaded?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
08-05-2010, 08:31 PM
actually the servers are on the east coast. Also the patching is done on port 7255 so if that port is filtered or blocked then the patching is slow. sometime using the patch by proxy option in the launcher option improve patching speed.

and it only took me 30 minutes to download the 900M patch.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
08-05-2010, 08:43 PM
I don't think it's just you, taken me over an hour and I'm only at 52% on a 20MB down connection...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
08-06-2010, 09:31 AM
uk here patched in less then 4 mins
50mb connection
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
08-06-2010, 10:21 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainjtkirk
uk here patched in less then 4 mins
50mb connection
Im in the UK, and you are ruddy lucky! It's like... 70-100kbps here. :/ Are you sure? The UK lacks high-speed internet such as 50mb connection. May I ask where you live? South East.etc?
I've tried switching from proxy to proxy. Not much difference.

At my current speed, I'm getting about 10% per hour. To anybody else, try speeding up your internet by cancelling any un-necessary internet windows and downloads (apart from the patch obviously lol). Try not to cramp the bandwith.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
08-06-2010, 02:07 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by PegasusMD
actually the servers are on the east coast. Also the patching is done on port 7255 so if that port is filtered or blocked then the patching is slow. sometime using the patch by proxy option in the launcher option improve patching speed.

and it only took me 30 minutes to download the 900M patch.

Good for you. But my backtrace says WEST COAST MIRROR.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
08-06-2010, 03:23 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omega_X
Good for you. But my backtrace says WEST COAST MIRROR.
tracert to patchserver shows

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 17 ms 17 ms 17 ms mpls-dsl-gw46-238.mpls.qwest.net [207.225.140.23
8]
3 18 ms 18 ms 17 ms mpls-agw1.inet.qwest.net [75.168.229.105]
4 27 ms 28 ms 64 ms chp-brdr-03.inet.qwest.net [67.14.8.194]
5 28 ms 27 ms 28 ms te2-1-0d0.cir1.chicago2-il.us.xo.net [206.111.2.
85]
6 55 ms 56 ms 56 ms vb2001.rar3.nyc-ny.us.xo.net [207.88.13.10]
7 82 ms 60 ms 59 ms ae0d0.mcr1.cambridge-ma.us.xo.net [216.156.0.26]

8 64 ms 67 ms 71 ms 216.55.4.18
9 64 ms 64 ms 64 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.
and the hop before the final is listed as
OrgName: XO Communications
OrgID: XOXO
Address: 13865 Sunrise Valley Drive
City: Herdon
StateProv: VA
PostalCode: 20171
Country: US

ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.eng.xo.com:4321/

NetRange: 216.55.0.0 - 216.55.63.255
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
08-06-2010, 04:02 PM
That's nice, but it doesn't pertain to my situation.

Thanks, have a nice day.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
08-06-2010, 09:27 PM
The servers are in Boston somewhere, or near to it, IIRC. Not that I've been to the US, but my atlas says that's on the east coast.

Anyway, people tend to misunderstand the performance of their internet connection. You do not have a "1.5Mb connection", that's just the maximum speed your modem can do. Your connection is actually something slower than this, depending on a lot of complex factors, most notably how congested your ISP's network currently is. You also do not have the same kind of bandwidth to all parts of the world. Your ISPs peering arrangements are different and have different performance capabilities depending on where you are connecting to.

Also, the Cryptic patcher is far more sensitive to latency than maximum bandwidth, and Cryptic's network pipe reportedly never goes over about 2/3 of its capacity, at peak. It's not overloaded, except for a few days just after the season 2 release when they had issues with the new patching technology (which was something else entirely).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
08-06-2010, 09:53 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omega_X
That's nice, but it doesn't pertain to my situation.

Thanks, have a nice day.
Actually it does, you claimed they were west coast when he said they weren't. If you're not willing to accept someone telling you otherwise, don't post anything.

Also
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miiru
The servers are in Boston somewhere, or near to it, IIRC. Not that I've been to the US, but my atlas says that's on the east coast.

Anyway, people tend to misunderstand the performance of their internet connection. You do not have a "1.5Mb connection", that's just the maximum speed your modem can do. Your connection is actually something slower than this, depending on a lot of complex factors, most notably how congested your ISP's network currently is. You also do not have the same kind of bandwidth to all parts of the world. Your ISPs peering arrangements are different and have different performance capabilities depending on where you are connecting to.

Also, the Cryptic patcher is far more sensitive to latency than maximum bandwidth, and Cryptic's network pipe reportedly never goes over about 2/3 of its capacity, at peak. It's not overloaded, except for a few days just after the season 2 release when they had issues with the new patching technology (which was something else entirely).
That says it best.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:57 AM.