Lt. Commander
# 1 The Demo is lacking
08-08-2010, 08:14 PM
Hey all,
I'm brand new to Star Trek Online, and the concept intrigued me. I'm not a hardcore fan of Star Trek, but I do enjoy it. I tried the demo of STO, and when I finished I felt as though I hadn't really been offered a taste of the full game. It didn't leave me wanting to buy it; it left me feeling like I had only experienced 5% of the experience, and I'm not prepared to pay for it without further experience. I think it would be a better demo if there were one or two more episodes available to play, as well as possibly a level cap of 10 if the devs feel like they're giving away too much content.

All in all, I was simply left feeling uninterested. Perhaps the demo really does showcase all that there is to STO, which would be a terrible shame, as the source material offers massive opportunity for innovation in the MMO field. On the other hand, if there is more to STO, I will never know because the demo did not offer enough to convince me to buy. It was enjoyable, but not nearly enough.
Lt. Commander
# 2
08-08-2010, 08:48 PM
Agreed. I got my girlfriend on the demo a few days ago. She said she really liked what little she got to play, but wouldn't buy the game on the principle that the demo is way too short and that she felt like it was too restrictive, and those two elements irked her. For example, the demo version wouldn't allow her to see a ship interior or visit a social planet; all you get to do is the tutorial and the first mission after that. There's no valid reason to deny a player access to stuff like that; there's no content in it. You can't do anything in a ship interior or on a social planet other than talk to other players and that is EXACTLY the sort of thing Cryptic should be trying to play up with STO if they don't want to give away too many missions. At any rate, I was unable to convince her to try it for a month, so Cryptic lost at least one sale cause of the demo.