Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Pendra37 and I must have been on the same wave length regarding an FPS view option for STO as I was doing some image mash ups between Star Trek Elite Force 2 and STO. After reading his amazing thread on how to get a FPS view in STO my coworkers were pressuring me to release the mashups and after a while I've relented.

So I hope you enjoy these and the pie-in-the-sky future possibilities and I hope that the hard work done by people like Pendra37 will allow STO to expand and offer this option eventually in the future.

http://img43.imageshack.us/img43/5631/stoef6gui.jpg

http://img683.imageshack.us/img683/9213/stoef1gui.jpg

http://img514.imageshack.us/img514/7899/stoef2gui.jpg

http://img529.imageshack.us/img529/9428/stoef3gui.jpg

http://img815.imageshack.us/img815/6480/stoef4gui.jpg

http://img818.imageshack.us/img818/7646/stoef5gui.jpg
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
08-09-2010, 10:54 AM
OMG I hope this feature gets implemented. I was checking out that linked post and it looks great... I wouldn’t think it would be too much work to get it implemented as at least an option for us and with the recent talk about ground combat changes I think this might just be a viable suggestion! I’m not one to post much in the way of asking things of Cryptic because I think they are doing a great job so far but I WOULD LOVE THIS!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
08-09-2010, 11:03 AM
Would be great to see FPS like combat on the ground, would definitely change the feel of STO so that it doesn't feel like a more simplistic version of WoW. The models are already almost there, I have not tried the trick Pendra posted, but after seeing these images and the possibilities that could be done with the ground combat I would be really excited to see a change like this implemented into STO.

Great work MackXX and Pendra, hopefully work like this does not go unnoticed by the dev's looking forward to seeing more!

Cheers,
Tehedra
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
08-09-2010, 11:06 AM
wow that looks amazing
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
08-09-2010, 11:09 AM
DO IT. Seriously. This would also eliminate the complaint from Cryptic about how the camera system 'forces' them to make ship corridors 2x too big in every direction.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6 Yes!
08-09-2010, 11:11 AM
Great work on these screens. I like the idea of going FPS on ground missions, though I think they will need to change some things around for science capitans who heal. They could add a defensive target so you could fire on the enemy but also heal or buff party members on the fly by having them targeted as well.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
08-09-2010, 11:12 AM
i like the current ground combat.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
08-09-2010, 11:14 AM
I WANT this it might finaly get me into liking ground combat right now it just sucks in my opinion.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
08-09-2010, 11:14 AM
Well I'm all for this or "Over the Shoulder" Resident Evil style (which allows for realistically sized environments because the camera is locked really close.

I hesitate on doing this right now because in first person mode you can't look beyond things without actually taking your body over there. It's a gimp when there's a 1st person and 3rd person option. I'd hope they'd not give us the option.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
08-09-2010, 11:16 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karmakazee View Post
Great work on these screens. I like the idea of going FPS on ground missions, though I think they will need to change some things around for science capitans who heal. They could add a defensive target so you could fire on the enemy but also heal or buff party members on the fly by having them targeted as well.
Definitely agree with this, Vanguard Saga of Heroes did a great job on this with the offensive/defensive target situation if the dev's are looking for an idea on how to implement this. Other then that one issue for engineers/science officers I think everything else seems to be almost already built into the game. If others already are using glitches to recreate this, then the engine must be capable.

Keep up the great work STO!
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:41 AM.