Lt. Commander
Ok, I'm fairly new to the holo-emitters. I just installed one and haven't had the chance to use it in combat yet. My understanding is this: The holo-emitter is a one-time use only device, it last 15 minutes (roughly one large space battle mission) and then its back to the Dabo table to build up enough currency to get a new one.

I like the concept, but I think the devs should really change the name and background of these devices.

First off, having a fully functional, fully combat worthy holographic ship seems a little rediculous to me. The ONLY time we ever saw soemthing like that used was in one of the Voyager episodes (Basics) and even then those holo-ships were merely there to confuse enemy ship commanders into not shooting at Voyager. They were NOT combat capable, in fact they were just optical illusions.

My proposal: Keep everything in-game as is, in terms of functionality, but instead of purchasing a holo-emitter that creates a holographic ship, why not talk to the bartender at Quarks or some other space station and through him, hire the services of a mercenary ship for the cost of some latinum? For the cost of 40,000 bars of latinum, some Cardassian or Ferengi skipper will warp in at your command and assist you with your battle, after which they depart...until you hire them again. That makes a lot more sense then having a holoemitter that fries out after one use. Holographic ships, in my opnion, just seem too far-fetched and (yes, I will say it) unrealistic, even for Star Trek.

I grant you, holograms are cool, but towards the end of Voyager they really went hologram-crazy.
Lt. Commander
# 2
08-09-2010, 08:44 PM