Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Polarize hull
09-07-2010, 09:08 AM
Polarize hull

Can anyone tell me what are the skill requirements for a tactical escort captain to have the “Polarize hull” skill?

Here’s the situation. I have a science officer that has the “Polarize hull” ability achieved. I have fulfilled his all ability requirements in the Lieutenant rank and I have promoted him to Lieutenant Commander, yet I still do not have access to his “Polarize hull” skill. My rank is Captain level 7 and I have fulfilled all my requirements such as Starship Emitters, Starship operations training. The only one I don’t have complete Starship hazard system.

The funny thing I have seen players of lesser rank in cruisers and I believe other escorts that already have this ability. I could be wrong about the escorts and I know that science ships do to their very nature would have this ability already. I just would like to know am I on track for achieving the ability or is something wrong and I should have had the ability a long time ago based on the skills that I have already achieved?

I would greatly appreciate any help you guys could give. 
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
09-07-2010, 09:26 AM
You're not very clear. What level of Polarize hull is it? It sounds like you have a BO with polarize hull 3, however you can't use any science powers higher than LT in any escort, and PH3 is a LTC power.

You need to get PH 1 or 2.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
09-07-2010, 01:45 PM
You can visit the bridge officer trainer in Earth Space Dock to swap out MOST BOff powers. Check there for a polarize hull power that your ship can use.

Each ship has only certain power slots available, so like the poster said above me, if your ship does not have a slot available that your BOff can use Polarize Hull in (if the BOff's Polarize Hull is too high a rank) then you cannot use it on that ship.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4 RE-polarize hull
09-08-2010, 10:49 AM
To further clarify I have a Science bridge officer that has the” polarize hull level 1” ability. I have looked it up and it is a Ensign level ability. The bridge officer in question is now a Lieutenant Commander and I am Captain level 8 yet I have now access the polarize hull ability. I have a Defiant class escort.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
09-08-2010, 10:59 AM
Is the bridge officer actually assigned to a seat on your ship?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
09-08-2010, 01:03 PM
"Is the bridge officer actually assigned to a seat on your ship?" Yes he is. however he is not part of the 4 primary away team members. Does that have a efffect on space abilities as well?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
09-08-2010, 01:39 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivoe1574 View Post
To further clarify I have a Science bridge officer that has the” polarize hull level 1” ability. I have looked it up and it is a Ensign level ability. The bridge officer in question is now a Lieutenant Commander and I am Captain level 8 yet I have now access the polarize hull ability. I have a Defiant class escort.
Not sure I understand you. You have a BO with polarize hull level 1. All you have to do is assign him to your science station, and you will have that ability. To assign him, press 'u' and select your ship. Click on the 'Assignments' tab along the top of the window. Select your science station, and from the pulldown menu, select the bridge officer that has polarize hull 1.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
09-08-2010, 02:50 PM
Actually what might be happening is the UI might not show your science officer, and he/she might be off screen. As you get more and more BOs and BO abilities, the UI doesn't adjust itself and move towards the center to show them all, and instead the ones on the edge can end up off screen. Try pressing F12 and moving your bridge crew box away from the edge of the screen to see if that helps.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
09-08-2010, 03:55 PM
If you mean you don't have the activation icon for the power, press P (while in space) then locate Polarize Hull the list of your powers. Then drag it onto your power bar.

I really don't understand your question to be honest.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10 polarize shields :)
09-08-2010, 09:21 PM
Thank you all ! with your help I was able to fix the problem.

One more question... The absolute maximum number of live and active bridge officers for an escort ship is.....?

By live and active I mean to be able to use their abilities without having to switch out officers and use dormant officers that normally not in use.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 AM.