Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Loaded up the launcher(admin mode) but while it was downloading it keeps on having problems connecting to the server. It downloads a bit then says its disconnects and when it connects again, it starts the download ALL over again. In the end, I'm unable to download the patch and play online. Turned off all the securtiy for IE still didnt help.

Ran nettest and shows this
contacting nettest server..
Local IP: 99.247.42.64
Ping: 38.5 msec
Port: 80:

Ran nettest on admin mode and shows this:
contacting nettest server..
timed out
hit return to exit

trace shows this:
C:\Users\XXX>tracert patchserver.crypticstudios.com

Tracing route to patchserver.crypticstudios.com [208.95.185.41]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
2 7 ms 14 ms 8 ms 10.30.236.1
3 38 ms 13 ms 9 ms 66.185.89.213
4 12 ms 35 ms 10 ms so-5-0-3.gw02.mtnk.phub.net.cable.rogers.com [66
.185.81.129]
5 61 ms 29 ms 32 ms 69.63.251.129
6 29 ms 39 ms 34 ms te10-2-0d0.cir1.nyc-ny.us.xo.net [209.220.16.25]

7 32 ms 29 ms 27 ms vb2000d1.rar3.nyc-ny.us.xo.net [207.88.13.38]
8 76 ms 38 ms 37 ms ae0d0.mcr1.cambridge-ma.us.xo.net [216.156.0.26]

9 36 ms 33 ms 120 ms 216.55.4.18
10 69 ms 71 ms 44 ms 208.95.185.41

Trace complete.

I tried direct connecting to the cable modem and the result are still the same. Tried with my laptop wireless with the same result. Tried my laptop at my workplace however it works perfectly. Seems at home I cant access STO. All other games i have are able to connect just fine, its just STO I am having problems with. Game was perfectly fine until 2-3weeks ago when the previous patch was downloaded and a few ppl inlcuding me was having lag and connecting to the server issues. I read the forums here and tried everything... I'm totally out of options over here and really need help. The damn launcher downloads a bit of the patch files(usually about 10MB) then stops and does it over again. IM AT MY ENDS HERE HELLPP
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
10-17-2010, 04:25 AM
anyone think this maybe ISP related? or a cable modem problem?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
10-17-2010, 12:42 PM
It's certainly a network issue of some kind - but since traceroute works and nettest can't connect to port 80 on the test server, it's probably on your local network rather than your ISP (modem is still a suspect). It's probably some kind of firewalling screwup.

Try running nettest on a different computer, connected to the same network. See if you can identify which component is responsible for it not working.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:02 AM.