Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 can't launch application
11-16-2010, 07:47 PM
All day today I can't launch the application. Once I get past the login server, the app load crashes and I get a box titled "CrypticError: Oops:" no details and a ticket number. I've sent a few of these "tickets" in toady but don't expect to hear back on them. Anybody else have this happen to them? Fixes? It could be a corrupt file and be resolved by a new program load. Other thoughts?

Just reloaded/ patched the game. Got in fine. In the middle of the mission, the box/ error crash occurred again. I suspect it's something server side and hopefully will be fixed in the next patch. Anybody else getting crashes?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
11-21-2010, 12:23 PM
Are you using an ATI video card? If so, disable or lower dynamic lighting in Video Options.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
11-26-2010, 07:12 AM
Same crashes today by me...just can't launch the game...reinstalling the game not helped..
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
11-26-2010, 11:18 AM
Quote:
Are you using an ATI video card?
The question is a simple one. Please answer it.


(If you are unsure

Win XP
press start > Go to Run > Type in dxdiag

Or If your on windows 7 / windows vista

Press start and type dxdiag in the search box.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
11-26-2010, 02:26 PM
Please post as many details as possible about your hardware and operating system so that we can better help you. Game crashes can be caused by a variety of problems, so more information means less guessing and quicker help to get you in-game and enjoying the universe!

Good basic information includes your OS version, installed hardware, and driver versions.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
11-28-2010, 12:28 AM
EDIT:
Problem solved...it was a teamviewer running in a background(last 6.x beta version)..if teamviewer is running i can't connect to tge game...since teamviewer off i can connect without any issues.for sure i've tried to run teamviewer again and then i was not able to connect and got launcher crashed.....so no problem more...



System...Intel core2quad q6600,4bg ddr2 800,gigabyte mainboard with P35 chipset..evga gtx480...Win 7 x64.
seems like the launcher have no connection with account server...i have started gameclient manually and still can't log in...i have tested with nettest and here ist test result...

unable to allocate performance buffer
contacting nettest server..
Local IP: xx.xx.xx.xx
Ping: 107.2 msec
Port: 80: 573 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 560 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 607 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 621 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 588 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 598 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 598 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 608 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 596 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 574 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 610 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 597 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 576 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit

so it looks like net issue? i cant recive from gameserver right?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
11-28-2010, 12:11 PM
Glad you were able to find the cause and get it fixed! Welcome to STO!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
12-06-2010, 06:51 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by kordee666 View Post
EDIT:
Problem solved...it was a teamviewer running in a background(last 6.x beta version)..if teamviewer is running i can't connect to tge game...since teamviewer off i can connect without any issues.for sure i've tried to run teamviewer again and then i was not able to connect and got launcher crashed.....so no problem more...



System...Intel core2quad q6600,4bg ddr2 800,gigabyte mainboard with P35 chipset..evga gtx480...Win 7 x64.
seems like the launcher have no connection with account server...i have started gameclient manually and still can't log in...i have tested with nettest and here ist test result...

unable to allocate performance buffer
contacting nettest server..
Local IP: xx.xx.xx.xx
Ping: 107.2 msec
Port: 80: 573 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 560 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 607 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 443: 621 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 588 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7255: 598 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 598 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7003: 608 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 596 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7202: 574 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 610 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 7499: 597 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Port: 80: 576 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 0 KB/sec 500
Idle NIC bandwidth Send: 0 KB/sec Recv: 0 KB/sec
hit return to exit

so it looks like net issue? i cant recive from gameserver right?
i wonder if this has to do with tv6...its not in beta any more and is in full release...i will try this
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
12-09-2010, 11:00 PM
This is definately a cause of TeamViewer6. I had the same issue and after reading this post closed it out and no more issue. This happend just aftering login.


Sys. Specs
Windows 7 64-bit
XfX HD6870 1GB DDR5 video card
12GB DDR3 OCZ Memory
80GB G.Skill SSD
STO running from 2x160GB RAID0
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
12-10-2010, 11:27 PM
yes it was the problem...i already emailed teamviewer and submited a bug to sto
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:58 AM.