Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
11-21-2010, 12:41 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blitzy
oh, yay, another YOU MUST HAVE VENT!!!!! requirement.

I debated on if I should comment on this but I couldn't resist.

First off Constantinople999 is taking the time to help people out, so what's the big deal with doing something he asks to make things go smoother??

Is vent/teamspeak/whatever needed for infected .... no, especially if you've run it before.
Does it help and make it easier ...... yes, especially if you haven't run it before.

Vent is a free download that might take up 5-10Mb of space. It costs you nothing unless you want to host your own server. If so many people that are willing to help put a requirement that you must have vent then just install it.

I just can't see what people have against using vent when their playing an MMO.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bort1980 View Post
This could be tempting. Is there a minimum rank for it?
Yes, you have to be at least RA3 I believe to be able to run the STF's. The missions are in Borg space and you can't even get thru the transwarp gate till RA3.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
11-21-2010, 12:43 PM
I may be mailing during the week - thank you for this offer!!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
11-21-2010, 01:03 PM
Awesome offer to say the least!

i would love to do it on my sci officer, but i dont have him in purple mkx gear yet,and......I dont have a headset atm.I do have vent installed however!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
11-21-2010, 01:09 PM
tbh ive done it on my RA5 when that was max rank without purples and its fine. Dont worry about grinding equipment, there are two purples in the mission after all

oh and thank you greatzippy i was a bit put out when he said that
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
11-21-2010, 01:11 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by greatzippy View Post
Yes, you have to be at least RA3 I believe to be able to run the STF's. The missions are in Borg space and you can't even get thru the transwarp gate till RA3.
Btw its actually RA3 to enter borg space , like you said, and RA5 to do STF's
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
11-21-2010, 01:22 PM
My First run ever on infected was a disaster, no Vent.
4 hours wasted and not even getting to the first ground boss.

My Second run even on Infected, with vent.
Completed the entire run in under an Hour and a Half.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
11-21-2010, 01:27 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexraptor View Post
My First run ever on infected was a disaster, no Vent.
4 hours wasted and not even getting to the first ground boss.

My Second run even on Infected, with vent.
Completed the entire run in under an Hour and a Half.
Vent makes it so much easier. I can call out targets, tell people where to stand, scream at people who dont listen etc and all this time im just shooting away.

My best time with all the people communicating well on Vent is 34 minutes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
11-21-2010, 02:50 PM
I would be willing to help you out here, Constantinople. I am somewhat limited at the times that I am online, but if you need a third person who is experienced, send me a /tell. If I'm not in the middle of a fleet activity, I'd be more than happy to help. I've run through it probably 50 times or so, and can play any class (tac in escort, eng in cruiser, or sci in retrofit Intrepid). On the ground, I usually play tac, but have eng with bunker kit, and also a sci running med kit or borg analyzer.

Oh, and of course I use vent. And for those of you that are vent skeptics - yes, it can be done without it. But isn't part of the frustration with the STF's is the TIME it takes to run them? I read on the forums all the time how "I don't have 5 hours to sit and play Infected, please nerf it". Think of vent as your way of making the most efficient use of your time. When our fleet takes new people through Infected, it takes me only 2 minutes to explain what to do in the boss room. It would take me 15 minutes to type it all out. And that's just in the boss room. There are all sorts of instructions that are given throughout the mission. No point spending all that time typing it out, when you can just listen.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
11-21-2010, 11:33 PM
Yeah thank you Latinumber. I already have one other person from my fleet, as mentioned earlier, so it would be useful to have a third experienced person. (Just thought how jumping might be a pain without 3 experienced!)

And btw this thread has had several hundred views but i havent received any mail.....
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
11-22-2010, 06:41 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Constantinople999 View Post
Over the last few days/weeks I've seen a lot of people complaining about the new STF loots sets that are coming out etc and i have also noticed a lot of people complaining about how hard these STF's are to do. Well me and a fellow fleet member have taken it upon ourselves to help you the community who are having difficulty with those pesky STF's. For the moment we will focus exclusively on infected.

So if you are interested in doing an infected run then follow the steps below:

Send me a message to Wilkins@Constantinople999 In the subject box put STF - Infected and in the message put ur character name that you wanna do the STF on, their class, rank, and ship class. Also put on the times in GMT that you are free to do an infected. (Note that infected should NEVER take more than an hour and a half)

Before you come on an STF make sure that you have ventrilo installed and ready to go. This is an application that allows us to talk to each other with ease. Dont worry though! You wont have to speak if you dont want to, its the listening part that is important. Also having the ability Beam Target Shield Subsystems at any level (and obviously a beam aray to go with them) is useful but not required. Also make sure you have plenty of Large Hypos, Large Shield charges and Large Power Cells. These can be bought at ESD next to the tailor.

Thank you all and please feel free to post
Thanks for the kind offer. I'll take you up on it in the near future.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:35 PM.