Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Ok been playing around with manually entering in positions on my space maps and have found Y does not work when setting NPC ship contacts.

I dropped in a space station and positioned it how I wanted, when brought in some ships to complete the look, but they were clipping into the station. So I use the X,Y,Z position markers to make the small move. X moved left and right, Z moved Up and down. and Y moved the stations height in the map, but for the ships no matter what I entered it always stayed at the default 0.0 Y position in the map.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
12-04-2010, 08:39 PM
As near as I can figure this happens on ground maps to.

Basically if you spawn a squad (essentially) they must remain at the same y position as the spawner. Why, I don't know but they move to whatever spot they can to get back to that Y spot without clipping through the map too badly..
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
12-04-2010, 11:38 PM
CORRECT

very bugged.....as far as I can tell on the ground maps.

When you place a group , if you move an actor right or left, that is fine but forward and backward
are switched...move the dot forward, on the live map, it moves the other way.

>>> A work around<<<

drop a squad down and place them all in a neat line....except 1 that is out of line.
play map, see where that one is...exit out
work map....keeping in mind that right and left work correctly and forward and back are switched,
try to place it.
play map...did you get close?
go back, adjust
ect.
when in the right spot, turn to face...might take a couple of trys there..ok you got that one right
LEAVE IT ALONE

do the next dot in line :p

if you don't line them up and do one by one, you will mess up.

Best way to do it til the bug is fixed.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
12-05-2010, 01:02 AM
Server keeps crashing when attempting to load new space map, it worked a little less than an hour ago. Don't know how to report it.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
12-05-2010, 05:20 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cmdr_Funke View Post
Server keeps crashing when attempting to load new space map, it worked a little less than an hour ago. Don't know how to report it.
Big blue bar in this area of forums.....Threads in Forum : The Foundry Beta for Star Trek Online - Bug Reports

Button centered left just above it. "New Post". Click it, title your thread, type in your problem

No, I'm not trying to be demeaning it's too early and I'm running on not enough sleep and zero coffee yet. If offense was taken, I apologize here, now, in advance.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
12-05-2010, 06:36 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordDave View Post
As near as I can figure this happens on ground maps to.

Basically if you spawn a squad (essentially) they must remain at the same y position as the spawner. Why, I don't know but they move to whatever spot they can to get back to that Y spot without clipping through the map too badly..
I only ran into this problem on ground as well, but as far as enemy spawner having to be on the same Y position of spawner, not true....because I spawn quite a bit in the air, and am trying to spawn enemies with me, but they keep spawning on the ground. The best I could do is spawn a group on top of some barrels, not on top of a building like I would like.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:51 PM.