Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
TOS Klingons show up on the enemy filter for Klingon ground missions (unlike regular Klingons), yet are not enemies.

Making a Klingon aligned mission. Since we cannot yet properly set whether a group of mobs is friendly/hostile, I'm using placeholder mobs. Set the filter to enemy, which removed the likes of Klingons, Orions, and other such KDF friendly races. TOS Klingons remained though. I figured, hey, not a bad placeholder. However, the mobs themselves are not hostile to Klingon players.

Expected results:
Well, that the whole friendly/enemy thing be revamped

But, other than that, that races under the enemy filter are the ones that, by default, want to kill you.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
12-06-2010, 05:07 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axterix
TOS Klingons show up on the enemy filter for Klingon ground missions (unlike regular Klingons), yet are not enemies.

Making a Klingon aligned mission. Since we cannot yet properly set whether a group of mobs is friendly/hostile, I'm using placeholder mobs. Set the filter to enemy, which removed the likes of Klingons, Orions, and other such KDF friendly races. TOS Klingons remained though. I figured, hey, not a bad placeholder. However, the mobs themselves are not hostile to Klingon players.

Expected results:
Well, that the whole friendly/enemy thing be revamped

But, other than that, that races under the enemy filter are the ones that, by default, want to kill you.
I've had the same problem trying to make some Federation Saboteurs/Traitors. Had to use Mirror Universe feds. I think they need to create two separate "Klingon TOS" and "Federation" groups, one that is an enemy, one that is friendly. Otherwise, our story options will be limited.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
12-06-2010, 05:50 PM
There's a slight difference there though. TOS Klingons are supposed to be friendly to Klingon aligned, same faction and all that. And they are, except they show up under the enemy filter setting, which they shouldn't.

That's a bug. They aren't enemies, they shouldn't show up in that setting.

What you are talking about is an additional feature or content. The ability to have your own faction be the enemy. And, yes, that is something we need, especially Klingon side, with the history of House violence.

Having 2 groups of each, one ally, one enemy, would be a bit of a hack fix. You'd need it for all the Klingon aligned races, for example. And even then, it wouldn't address all issues. My story, for example, puts the player in the middle of a conflict between two houses. So I need Klingons who are the enemies of Klingons, with the player able to shoot both. So I'd need 2 enemy faction Klingon groups. And suppose you wanted a story with Hirogen fighting Romulans. Guess what, those two factions won't fight each other. And there's no doubt other examples. The end result would be a rather cluttered list.

For that situation, we need a better way to be able to set hostility. Say the ability to set whether a group sees the player as enemy, ally, or neutral (and hooks to let us change that as the mission progresses), as well as to set other groups as being the enemy, either by a list of groups or else some sort of faction we can set for a group and the ability to give that group or faction enemy groups/factions.

A bit more work involved there for the devs to properly fix it.

Be glad you don't have races with their own fleets, a history of fighting your own faction, and that there's a Terran Empire
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
12-06-2010, 06:18 PM
There needs to be a way to set, and change, the alignment (Enemy, Neutral, Ally).

Try making a mission that works for both Klingon and Starfleet...very difficult.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5 TOS Connie
12-06-2010, 06:47 PM
I wanted to use one in a story but every time I try to locate on the map it was not there. Broke down and use Debuis Federation ship 05. This Beta so I have been working around the bugs to make a story. Got 3 or 4 workable ones now but it is going like make change, save, run to check for errors, then repeat. I beat I will have run one mission a hundred time to get one mission to work. I found making the maps frist helps me build a storybord.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:56 AM.