Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 81
01-30-2011, 01:15 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrooklynKnight View Post
Hi

Can you help me set up a chat bind? I want to hit the B Key and have it activate my chat bar to send a message to the Accolades Global channel.

I know its /bind B but what's the paramater after that?
/bind <key> ChannelSend <channel name> <message>

Assuming the name of the channel is "Accolades Global" ...

/bind b ChannelSend Accolades Global <message>


@TheKalamity, I apologize, I have been a bit lax tending to this tread. Give me a day or two. I'll get back to you.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 82
01-30-2011, 01:43 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tranceaddict View Post
/bind <key> ChannelSend <channel name> <message>

Assuming the name of the channel is "Accolades Global" ...

/bind b ChannelSend Accolades Global <message>


@TheKalamity, I apologize, I have been a bit lax tending to this tread. Give me a day or two. I'll get back to you.
It's just Accolades, so I'm guessing its /bind b ChannelSend Accolades <message>?

Edit: Ok, I just tried that, and it spits out "message". heh.
I don't want it to be a set message I want it to send the message I type after hitting B

The same way you can send a message to Fleet chat with /fleet or a /tell when your chat bar is set to another channel.

How can I do that?
And thanks again.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 83
01-30-2011, 11:41 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrooklynKnight View Post
It's just Accolades, so I'm guessing its /bind b ChannelSend Accolades <message>?

Edit: Ok, I just tried that, and it spits out "message". heh.
I don't want it to be a set message I want it to send the message I type after hitting B

The same way you can send a message to Fleet chat with /fleet or a /tell when your chat bar is set to another channel.

How can I do that?
And thanks again.
Unfortunately, you can't get exactly what you are wanting; but, there is a workable method. You are gonna have to use a two-step process and do it the other way around. Use this:

/bind <key> channel_setcurrent <string>

This will change the channel selector to the channel specified by <string>. Next, go to your Options:KeyBinds and set the "Start Chatting" bind to a desired key; this is under "Miscellaneous" (at the bottom). By default this is set to Enter (the return-key).

So this would allow you to strike 'B' (setting the channel selector to Accolades), then strike Enter (activating the chat window), type your message and send.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKalamity
Ifyou look in the ingame keybind menu you can find the setting for this. I made mine so that toggling my 4th mouse button locks and unlocks my camera to my mouse and then I made my right click hold move the ship. I'm not sure if there is a written variant of this, but that's how I changed it.

I think he's looking for a way to not use the mouse left or right buttons. There is no way to navigate without using one or both of the buttons. These are what tell the system to "pay attention" to the mouse.


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKalamity
To the player wishing to use the labels on the tooltrays, if you use the command "UseTraySlot# #" instead of the "TrayExecByTray# #" command it will apply the label to the power.

I have never been able to get the UseTraySlot # # to work properly. You will continually get "trayexecbytraynotifyaudio <int> <int> <int> <string> <string>" because there is supposed to be a "ding" sound went the command is activated.

P.S. Still working on your request.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 84
01-30-2011, 12:19 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tranceaddict View Post
Unfortunately, you can't get exactly what you are wanting; but, there is a workable method. You are gonna have to use a two-step process and do it the other way around. Use this:

/bind <key> channel_setcurrent <string>

This will change the channel selector to the channel specified by <string>. Next, go to your Options:KeyBinds and set the "Start Chatting" bind to a desired key; this is under "Miscellaneous" (at the bottom). By default this is set to Enter (the return-key).

So this would allow you to strike 'B' (setting the channel selector to Accolades), then strike Enter (activating the chat window), type your message and send.

Aww really? Man that sucks. Back in City of Heroes all you had to do was add a /say parameter after the channel name.
Thanks again for your help. The reason I wanted a hotkey bind for this is I'm often chatting in multiple channels and I usually don't want to change my current bar from Fleet or Team or Zone. No matter what channel I'm in I can always type /fleet or /team, but often i forget and end up mistelling to Accolades.

It seems I'd have to set a hotkey to switch each channel...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 85
01-30-2011, 04:37 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKalamity
Now a question for the op: do you know what phrase is necessary for the top row of numpad keys? I'm meaning the * / and - commands. I haven't been able to find a phrase the works for any of the numpad keys aside from the numbers and + and enter.
For '/' use 'Divide'
For '*' use 'Multiply'
For '-' use 'Subtract'

Also ...

For 'Num Lock' use 'Pause'
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 86
01-30-2011, 06:27 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by tranceaddict View Post
[color="Yellow"]

I have never been able to get the UseTraySlot # # to work properly. You will continually get "trayexecbytraynotifyaudio <int> <int> <int> <string> <string>" because there is supposed to be a "ding" sound went the command is activated.

P.S. Still working on your request.
Really? Because I've had no issues with it, perhaps theres some variation between your code and mine?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 87
01-31-2011, 04:32 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrooklynKnight View Post
No matter what channel I'm in I can always type /fleet or /team, but often i forget and end up mistelling to Accolades..
Naah Chief, we just ignore your mistells
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 88
02-03-2011, 07:57 AM
Hi, great thread here read through and found very interesting. I have a specific goal for a keybind in mind and I will try it later but I wanted to get some feedback.

As you may know, with two versions of two of the Emergency Power to ____, you can have the power bonus to both systems up 100% of the time (30 second system cooldown, 15 second global, 30 second power boost...) (except for the first 15 seconds)

Remembering to activate the next power in the sequence every 15 seconds is difficult especially with so much going on, so I would like to automate it as much as possible. What I am considering here is a keybind to a key that I commonly use (say, spacebar) that still performs its origonal task (fire weapons) that also attempts to activate ALL 4 of the emergency power powers. Of course it will only activate one and the rest will go on global cooldown, but as I am frequently pushing the button (space) it will always activate the next in the sequence as it becomes available. Without further ado...

/bind Space GenSendMessage HUD_Root FireAll && +TrayExecByTray C1 1 $$ +TrayExecByTray C1 2 $$ +TrayExecByTray C1 3 $$ +TrayExecByTray C1 4 $$

Where the first four slots in my control quick bar are like EPtSIII, EPtWI, EPtSIII(2nd copy), EPtWI (2nd copy)

Well, what say you? Will this work as I'm thinking it will? Is there a better key to bind to? I was also considering both turn keys as they get alot of use, or maybe even multiple keys?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 89
02-03-2011, 03:40 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by PicardTheIIIrd
Hi, great thread here read through and found very interesting. I have a specific goal for a keybind in mind and I will try it later but I wanted to get some feedback.

As you may know, with two versions of two of the Emergency Power to ____, you can have the power bonus to both systems up 100% of the time (30 second system cooldown, 15 second global, 30 second power boost...) (except for the first 15 seconds)

Remembering to activate the next power in the sequence every 15 seconds is difficult especially with so much going on, so I would like to automate it as much as possible. What I am considering here is a keybind to a key that I commonly use (say, spacebar) that still performs its origonal task (fire weapons) that also attempts to activate ALL 4 of the emergency power powers. Of course it will only activate one and the rest will go on global cooldown, but as I am frequently pushing the button (space) it will always activate the next in the sequence as it becomes available. Without further ado...

/bind Space GenSendMessage HUD_Root FireAll && +TrayExecByTray C1 1 $$ +TrayExecByTray C1 2 $$ +TrayExecByTray C1 3 $$ +TrayExecByTray C1 4 $$

Where the first four slots in my control quick bar are like EPtSIII, EPtWI, EPtSIII(2nd copy), EPtWI (2nd copy)

Well, what say you? Will this work as I'm thinking it will? Is there a better key to bind to? I was also considering both turn keys as they get alot of use, or maybe even multiple keys?

PicardTheIIIrd, Yes. What you want will work. There will be no downtime whatsoever. You do need to modify your bind to this:

/bind Space GenSendMessage HUD_Root FireAll && +TrayExecByTray 0 1 $$ +TrayExecByTray 0 2 $$ +TrayExecByTray 0 3 $$ +TrayExecByTray 0 4

Commands are referenced by Tray and Slot; so, assuming you are in the first tray, your 'C1' should be '0'
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 90
02-08-2011, 02:10 PM
Thanks for the guide, it's great. I have a very noobish question.

I understand that commands are supposed to execute in reverse order. That is, the last command listed in a sequence will be the one that activates when you press the key for the first time.

So why does this work?

; "TargetTeammate 3 $$ +TrayExecByTray 1 7 $$ +TrayExecByTray 0 7"

Wouldn't it execute the power in Tray 0 7 on the first press, then the power on Tray 1 7, then target teammmate 3 on the third press? Wouldn't you want to target your teammmate first before applying the power?

Is it only the +TrayExecByTray command that executes in reverse order?
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:15 AM.