Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
Greetings Captains!

We are aware of a Server Not Responding issue that is randomly impacting players as they transfer between zones. We are working to resolve the issue as soon as possible

Thank you,
The Star Trek Online Team
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
12-09-2010, 04:27 PM
Not to nitpick, but this has been an issue since the series of patches were working on Tribble. How in the world did you let this go live with that kind of issue?!?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
12-09-2010, 04:33 PM
This issue is a bit ridiculous! Can't transfer to another map, issues with the servers on ground missions, etc. Makes me think they should of held off on this mess for another couple of weeks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4 same stuff different day
12-09-2010, 04:45 PM
let me say I am not surprised to see this. I know after one major content launch...I think season 1....this same issue happened randomly. I have not logged in yet...I am still patching but I was 100% certain there would be some issues. This is exactly what the dev's have done with this game from the beginning. Put stuff out that wasn't ready to be put out. The reason or cause is unknown to the casual player. Me and my peeps think that their must be a bonus somewhere for them if the game fails. However there was a lot of nice talk about stopping that kind of deal and putting out a quality product etc. etc.

That was nice of you to tell us you were aware of it and then eat all the flaming as a result. I love the "News" tab on the launch window thing:

"Map Transfer Freeze", "Season 3: Genesis Available Now" and please vote for us for some players choice awards. Like in between random map transfer freezes, I will go vote. I think I encountered that same thing on tribble as well like someone had said.

Regardless I am sticking around mostly cuz I bought a lifetime sub and I still enjoy the game after you fix all the crap you screw up.

Season 4 - "No Bugs". - make that your mantra for the next one.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
12-09-2010, 04:46 PM
I had this for a few hours after patch went live , but it seems to have settled and stopped now, fo rme at least.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
12-09-2010, 05:12 PM
Why the indignit attitude? Everybody knew there would be issues after the new patch. Hell, I'm avoiding any real playtime for the next few days specifically because of it. Just report the problem and move on. Belligerent attitudes don't make them work faster.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
12-09-2010, 05:23 PM
I hadn't seen the issue myself for the last week on Tribble (and was playing a lot) - so I thought they had gotten it taken; and perhaps they did too. Today, it happened to me once and I've been doing a lot of KDF Sorties with map transfers galore.

Is the issue real, and still occuring? Yes. Did they think it would be as big an issue at Season 3 launch as it turned out to be? Obviously not. If one could just wave a magoc wand and make all the bugs dissapear they would; but as that's not possible; they need to gather data, look at possible causes and find a solution (and I'm sure they will).

It's easy to sit back and say - "This should have been caught and fixed"; but with a codebase this size, sometimes that's easier said than done. At this point, all they can so is what they are doing.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
12-09-2010, 05:50 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commadore_Bob
Why the indignit attitude? Everybody knew there would be issues after the new patch. Hell, I'm avoiding any real playtime for the next few days specifically because of it. Just report the problem and move on. Belligerent attitudes don't make them work faster.
I wouldn't be upset if this didn't happen on Tribble before going live. The fact of the matter is, it was an issue on Tribble that they didn't fix, and carried over to Holodeck. The S2 launch was mostly unforseen, and thus I didn't raise a mighty stink over it. THIS, however, is unacceptable. I would much rather have waited a little longer until the issue was resolved in beta testing. You DO NOT release something with as severe a bug as this.

Windows Vista was delayed several times due to issues, and got negative press because it was still released before it was truly ready (Vista SP1).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
12-09-2010, 06:07 PM
its not that bad...or you guys fixed it already...ain't happened to me yet. don't i feel like the chud.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
12-09-2010, 06:50 PM
Must be a lot of players patching, downloading patch at 1 to 1.4 mbps. While patching my speed test was 10/1 mbps.

Speed Test #93676869 by dslreports.com
Run: 2010-12-09 21:33:13 EST
Download: 10418 (Kbps)
Upload: 978 (Kbps)
Latency: 20 ms
Tested by server: 68 flash
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 AM.