Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
12-10-2010, 02:39 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axterix
Don't care for new button, personally, liked the old way better. Was easy enough to tell if it was active because it didn't have the countdown going.

Hopefully, they'll adjust it a bit further, say a nice tint, rather than this white outline.
To add to this, why it needs to change...

If you hover your cursor over the cloak button, it gets a yellow outline, just like any power you have your cursor over. This outline, of course, means there's no white outline. So now you cannot tell if cloak is active or not by looking at the button, which you used to be able to do. And while you can look at your ship or the buff bar, keep in mind that the change they made was for any toggled power, not just cloaking.

The current implementation needs work.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
12-10-2010, 02:44 PM
How about changing the button altogether? You know that shield facing botton? Why not take the ship from that, put it on a button, and have that ship disappear (leaving a darkened blank button) when the ship is cloaked?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
12-10-2010, 10:16 PM
Thats an idea, but personally I would like a change in colors to indicate it's in use.

Red = Online
Dark Read = Offline
Amber = Cloak in Use.

That or the icon changes when cloak is in use, like how the weapon icons change when various effects are used.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
12-10-2010, 10:27 PM
A couple of time the button has shown I'm clocked when I'm not.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
12-10-2010, 10:32 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Katic View Post
How about changing the button altogether? You know that shield facing botton? Why not take the ship from that, put it on a button, and have that ship disappear (leaving a darkened blank button) when the ship is cloaked?
The problem with that is that it isn't too universal. There's other powers that, if I use, also get the white outline for a bit, then go to their recharge countdown. So, if they were to do something like that, they'd have to give every icon alternate art to use while active. And that's artist time that could be spent giving us more things to use in the Foundry
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
12-12-2010, 04:57 AM
I personaly do not like that change..... but if you get used to it, I have to admit, it IS a little more clearly.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
12-12-2010, 07:46 AM
I think the learning curve on when your cloak is on or off is pretty steep though, I made the mistake of thinking i was cloaked when i wasn't exactly 1 time.. it was pretty humiliating, approaching the Fedball with my homies, & then having 5 Feds pummel me into space-dust before i realized what happened.Havn't made that mistake again.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
12-12-2010, 08:13 AM
Mine seems to work every once in a while. Sometimes the only way I can tell if I'm cloaked or not is by my ship graphics.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:42 PM.