Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
We are given the option in the Foundry to choose the "whole map" (example: Sirius Sector Block) as the starting "door" for our missions. However, if we choose this option, we cannot publish the mission because we are left with an unfinished task ("First map transition to a custom map has to specify a door"). So, the Foundry is not recognizing the "whole map" option on its unfinished task list (whereas a potted plant in ESD works fine). What is odd is that when previewing the mission using your foundry toon, the "whole map" option works just fine... for example you zone into ESD or Sector Space and you get the pop-up dialogue that starts the mission.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
12-14-2010, 10:45 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by BorrowedTune
We are given the option in the Foundry to choose the "whole map" (example: Sirius Sector Block) as the starting "door" for our missions. However, if we choose this option, we cannot publish the mission because we are left with an unfinished task ("First map transition to a custom map has to specify a door"). So, the Foundry is not recognizing the "whole map" option on its unfinished task list (whereas a potted plant in ESD works fine). What is odd is that when previewing the mission using your foundry toon, the "whole map" option works just fine... for example you zone into ESD or Sector Space and you get the pop-up dialogue that starts the mission.
You need to choose an exiting location Sector Sector Space ( ie a starting 'door') for the first transition. 'Whole Map" is for allowing another map transition to take place from anywhere on one of the maps you've created for your mission once all objectives have been completed (as opposed to only being allowed to map tranfer if they're still in the area defind by a Place Marker).

You cannot use 'Whole Map' as the door from Sector Space. Ity has to be one of the Cryptic pre-defined ground Foundry Quest NPCs or one of the Cryptiic pre-defined space locations on the STO sector space Galaxy. You mission HAS to take place somewhere in the STO 'Galaxy' - you can't just have it start from anywhere in Sector Space (which is what 'Whole Map' effectively is at that level.)
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
12-14-2010, 04:37 PM
You cannot use Whole Map as a transfer point for the first map transfer.
You must select a "door", whether it's a literal door on one of the starbases, or a system in one of the many sector blocks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
12-14-2010, 05:33 PM
I really wish they'd add the shipboard holodeck then we could launch missions there without having to make it part of the regular STO universe.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
12-14-2010, 06:45 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by shonsu02 View Post
I really wish they'd add the shipboard holodeck then we could launch missions there without having to make it part of the regular STO universe.
PLENTY of doors you could claim are 'holodecks' on your ship, and you don't have to show the holodeck starting up, either. Imagination, a wonderful thing!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
12-15-2010, 05:34 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by shonsu02 View Post
I really wish they'd add the shipboard holodeck then we could launch missions there without having to make it part of the regular STO universe.
Agreed. I wish the whole implementation of selecting missions was from an Holodeck environment for quick access to missions. It's not very satisfying to travel across the furthest sectors just to play a poorly constructed mission. I think the Admirals door at ESD is going to need some oil on the door as this is probably one of the quickest ways to get into a mission.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
12-15-2010, 07:59 AM
Wouldn't another obvious choice for "door" implementation be the transporter room and pad aboard your ship? Just sayin'...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
12-15-2010, 10:11 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroniusRex
You cannot use Whole Map as a transfer point for the first map transfer.
You must select a "door", whether it's a literal door on one of the starbases, or a system in one of the many sector blocks.
I understand and personally really don't have a problem with this as I tend to agree with CX7's post below; the mission "door" is just a device to get things started. This was my original reasoning when I first published my mission to tribble - make the first transition door something accessible and easily identifiable to all players.

But here's the problem - the players who reviewed my mission don't feel this way. The number one complaint about my mission was that it started at the tailor in ESD. Ruins immersion, they said. Fair enough. So I decided to change the first transition door and republish. Should be easy enough, right? Turns out it wasn't.

First, my mission is located in a region of space that is not on any STO map. In the story, I explain that it is near a canon referenced system (which isn't in STO, either). I think this will be rather common for UGC authors - to set their story "where no one has gone before." So, locating the starting door at an existing system in a sector block doesn't always work.

Second, lets remember that the player accepting the mission could be anywhere in the quadrant. Lets say they are playing dabo on DS9 and accept the mission... now they are off to ESD to interact with a wall console before warping to the final destination. This makes for quite a bit of unnecessary travel downtime as well as being "immersion breaking." Yes, I know this is nitpicking. Again, this is based on feedback received by multiple players of my mission. It is important to them. One player was so distraught about having to visit the tailor room in ESD to start my mission that he gave it one star based on that fact alone.

So, I guess the bottom line is that the "first starting door transition" options are a little clunky. I liked the idea of being able to start on a "whole map" as it solves some of these problems. From an "immersion" view, they just hop in their ship, get into sector space and set a course to the mission's destination (cut scene and you're there). From a more pragmatic view, it means less downtime... most everyone can get to the Sirius Sector block pretty quickly and get to the fun stuff right away.

However, I'm assuming there is some technical reason you have disabled the 'whole map" option. Potential mission pop up spam when zoning in or something? I like The.Last.Red.Shirt's idea if something like that is possible... perhaps an option to make the first transition door the helm on the player's bridge? If that's not possible, perhaps one of the deep space sector borders? I'm sure others can come up with some more good ideas that might be viable.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
12-15-2010, 11:37 AM
It would be really nice if you could physically place a door somewhere on the Whole Map that appears like a a regular system / nebula / whatever (with the ability to choose how it appears on the map).

Maybe a slightly smaller/lower version for player-set Astrometic doorways.

Abuse-wise, they could theoretically make it so player-set doorways can't be placed within a certain range of normal systems. For most missions they'd only appear when a player accepts the mission.

For say the top 10 highest rated and most-played, as a caveat perk for the hard work, let those player-set doorways show up for everyone.

As for ground maps: please add at least one Holodeck door in each major location (even if the Holodeck map isn't available yet in Foundry).
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 PM.