Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I'm still experimenting with the kind of map I'd like to build.

So far, I'm annoyed with the inflexibility inherently present.

My concept is to have a base defended by Federation personnel.

But the spawns are all too random.

I thought if I placed a Federation squad and moved them around individually, that would be a fix.

It is not.

I was trying to have a scientist flanked by 2 tacticals as a trial.

The only problem is, everytime the squad respawns, their class shifts.

Because the one I position is a tactical this time is no guarantee they're going to be a tactical next time.


We need the ability to place single Ally NPCs, define their class and rank (I'm assuming this means their health/combat abilities).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
12-17-2010, 12:43 AM
That is a bit more exact than allowed ...currently

sorry

might be available later
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
12-17-2010, 04:12 AM
You should be able to hit the drop down list and edit each actor individually. Then it becomes an issue of how many will spawn. I'm not sure if you can delete actors from the list. That'll be something else for me to play with this weekend.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
12-17-2010, 04:12 AM
Well, you are able to use costumes. If you want each actor in a spawn group to look like something in particular, then you can do that.

Click the one you want to be tactucal, change the costume to a red shirt and there you go. It might not use the powers of a tactical if the spawn is actually something else, but it will still look like one. If the scene you are making is not a combat scene then no one will notice.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
12-17-2010, 04:13 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cwynlaen
You should be able to hit the drop down list and edit each actor individually. Then it becomes an issue of how many will spawn. I'm not sure if you can delete actors from the list. That'll be something else for me to play with this weekend.
I just moved some of them totally off the map into black space and assume they fell to their deaths while leaving the number I wanted.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
12-17-2010, 05:04 AM
Yes, I was able to edit each member of the group individually.

As a trial, I had a Federation Group composed of an 8472, 2 Local Defenders, 1 Jem'Hadar and a Hirogen.

But it still didn't affect their classes.

I think the Hirogen was alternately a Medic and an Engineer during the test.


I'm not entirely sure what I want yet, this is more a test of basic principles.

Although seeing as I'm configuring them as a combat squad, at somepoint, there may be staged attacks.
And if that occurs, I'd like to see them behave consistently as to what I've specified they are.

The Jem'Hadar and Hirogen were just experimentation really, to see if they could be spawned as allies.

Most likely this will be the final composition of the group:

8472: Scientist (there's a story point behind why this one is a science officer).
Both Local Defenders: Tactical (also a story point).
2 Federation/human officers: Whatever else is left, I'm not really concerned about it as long as the other 3 are correct.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
12-17-2010, 05:15 AM
I've had this problem too. Makes placing your NPCs a total lottery.

First time I place a squad I got a captain, two ensigns and Lt. Medic. Next time I tested the map I had a captain, 2 ensigns and an ENSIGN medic. Weird.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
12-17-2010, 05:26 AM
it is a balancing feature

what gets spawned is directly contected with what lvl the player is.

I know why they did it and why we will never get to choose exactly what spawns


exploits


If you could put a bunch of mobs in and make them all a support class....you can gun them down
quickly

making easier kills

so it can be farmed


.............. I know, unlikely but they prob. don't wanna take the chance
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
12-17-2010, 05:35 AM
Quote:
it is a balancing feature

what gets spawned is directly contected with what lvl the player is.

I know why they did it and why we will never get to choose exactly what spawns


exploits


If you could put a bunch of mobs in and make them all a support class....you can gun them down
quickly

making easier kills

so it can be farmed


.............. I know, unlikely but they prob. don't wanna take the chance
There needs to be a button "costumize" that removes all skill point and loot drops from NPCs and gives you this freedom.

Then the only abusal potential is giving players enemies for which they don't get any rewards at all.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
12-17-2010, 08:17 AM
most of my mission use...whatever spawns...spawns

just me, I might throw a costume on an enemy for show
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 AM.