Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 11
12-18-2010, 07:43 AM
My missions worked very well for my VA on Normal difficulty... enemies were well balanced and my away team worked perfect. If the teaming issues are ever fixed the encounters should scale up appropriately with more players...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 12
12-20-2010, 02:10 AM
I'm a little confused. I have all the BO's I need when testing the mission in foundry but when I play it as a published mission with a normal character, I don't get any away team members at all. Just little old me...getting slaughtered by the encounters I put in. Are you guys saying that I have to level up my test toon and get the boffs for him, then when the mission is published my normal character will also have his full away team?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 13
12-20-2010, 07:15 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeaCadt07 View Post
Are you guys saying that I have to level up my test toon and get the boffs for him, then when the mission is published my normal character will also have his full away team?
No. Foundry Test/Authoring characters have no effect on the normal Tribble characters which you've either created or copied from Holodeck for the purpose of testing Tribble changes or reviewing/playing community authored content.

What is happening though is that there currently is a bug in Foundry ground/interior maps where the away-team spawns with an abnormal Bridge Officer setup. This can appear as missing BO's to such a degree where the player is left only with their Captain's character.

It's a bug (that's the bad news) and it's not your fault (that's the good new).
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 14
12-20-2010, 07:28 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordOfPit View Post
No. Foundry Test/Authoring characters have no effect on the normal Tribble characters which you've either created or copied from Holodeck for the purpose of testing Tribble changes or reviewing/playing community authored content.

What is happening though is that there currently is a bug in Foundry ground/interior maps where the away-team spawns with an abnormal Bridge Officer setup. This can appear as missing BO's to such a degree where the player is left only with their Captain's character.

It's a bug (that's the bad news) and it's not your fault (that's the good new).
there is somewhat of a fix for the people who test the mission live with their higher ranked toons synced from tribble

http://forums.startrekonline.com/sho...99&postcount=5

in other words- there is a bug that more specifically syncs your bridge officers to the last time you had your away team set up. So the last mission I did on one of my tester characters on holodeck before syncing is apparently a mission that required only 1 Away team officer.


regardless- to solve the issue, delete your tribble toon, then go and do an away team mission that requires 4 bridge officers and then when you resync your holodeck toon onto tribble- it will fix the bug.

you dont even need to finish the ground mission on your holodeck toon- just beam down onto either a ground or interior map on holodeck.

as for the foundry toon- i have solved that by going and doing the intro missions, and then buying the remaining officers needed so i can form an ensign level away team at the very least
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 15
12-20-2010, 07:36 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by apt.pupil View Post
...in other words- there is a bug that more specifically syncs your bridge officers to the last time you had your away team set up. So the last mission I did on one of my tester characters on holodeck before syncing is apparently a mission that required only 1 Away team officer.
You're absolutely right because the last mission I did with my Captain before copying her to Tribble required 2 BO's and was on Drozana station, in the past.

Quote:
Originally Posted by apt.pupil View Post
as for the foundry toon- i have solved that by going and doing the intro missions, and then buying the remaining officers needed so i can form an ensign level away team at the very least
I find the /KillTarget command quite satisfying...

But yes, at one time I saved the SS Azure several times to get my Founder a set of BO's.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 16
12-20-2010, 07:39 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordOfPit View Post


But yes, at one time I saved the SS Azure several times to get my Founder a set of BO's.[/color]
i got sick of /killtarget or even tab+kill target button- plus its not a good way to test things such as mission difficulty
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 17
12-20-2010, 07:54 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by apt.pupil
i got sick of /killtarget or even tab+kill target button- plus its not a good way to test things such as mission difficulty
I actually combined tab+kill into one key which I just tap to get through enemy spawns. Since I'm currently not trying to make combat-heavy, I stick to Ensign-level enemy spawns so I don't need to worry about mission difficulty, as STO does that for me.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 18
12-20-2010, 08:05 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordOfPit View Post
I actually combined tab+kill into one key which I just tap to get through enemy spawns. Since I'm currently not trying to make combat-heavy, I stick to Ensign-level enemy spawns so I don't need to worry about mission difficulty, as STO does that for me.
I am making a series of missions that are meant to be difficult, but not overly so like you see in STFs- so I often struggle to find the balance between an ensign-lieutenant-commander squad and say a couple of ensigns allied squads
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 19
12-20-2010, 08:59 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by apt.pupil View Post
I am making a series of missions that are meant to be difficult, but not overly so like you see in STFs- so I often struggle to find the balance between an ensign-lieutenant-commander squad and say a couple of ensigns allied squads
I hear you there. In CoH I once designed a wonderful mission, it had an awesome mix of Mind and Illusion Control powers coupled with Dark Miasma powers, in essence, the worst combination of debuffs and crowd control I could think of. Naturally, my shape-shifting Kheldian characters loved it where-as others hated it like the black plague.

Also, don't forget that some people will put more skill points into space than ground, or the other way around, and thus something that is easy to them may be tougher for others.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 20
12-20-2010, 09:08 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordOfPit View Post
I hear you there. In CoH I once designed a wonderful mission, it had an awesome mix of Mind and Illusion Control powers coupled with Dark Miasma powers, in essence, the worst combination of debuffs and crowd control I could think of. Naturally, my shape-shifting Kheldian characters loved it where-as others hated it like the black plague.

Also, don't forget that some people will put more skill points into space than ground, or the other way around, and thus something that is easy to them may be tougher for others.
I put ALL my skill points into space.

I am yet to meet someone who puts all their skill points into ground.

I can play my mission through on advanced- but i walk out with half a dozen injuries. I wont even bother trying my own mission on elite because i know that even with the best of the best in craftable equipment attached to my captain and bridge officers- i wont be able to make it past my own third map. Not without some help from another captain at least.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:41 AM.