Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
I wanted to edit my publish project, so I decided to withdraw it first. I click the button several times, but it didn't seem to do anything?

Before, it would change the text where it said "Publish Succeeded!" to "Not published". But today when I tried it, it would not change to "not published".

Now, I had to save my project first before it showed that it was "not published".
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
01-17-2011, 05:56 PM
I've encountered this and think I know what the problem might be... if someone has your mission in their current mission list it can't be withdrawn... and if you publish it again there will be a duplicate, but I think both versions are the same... that's my theory anyway...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
01-17-2011, 06:17 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Napoleon_BlownApart
I've encountered this and think I know what the problem might be... if someone has your mission in their current mission list it can't be withdrawn... and if you publish it again there will be a duplicate, but I think both versions are the same... that's my theory anyway...
I haven't really seen the duplicates, but my theory on that is that while someone still has your mission in their list, they have the old version, and then once they've finished that it gets withdrawn.

I know that I republished one of my missions to fix something, and then someone already had it in their queue probably because when they played it they got the old stuff and didn't notice the changes I'd made which were specially for them based on their feedback
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
01-17-2011, 09:40 PM
ok... close enough for me... just when I looked at the duplicate missions, my new description was on both of them, but that does not necessarily mean the player who had the mission got the new one.. it's just a little confusing as usual...
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
01-23-2011, 08:50 AM
I can confirm that after pressing withdraw, then once everyone that has the mission in their mission list has either dropped or completed the mission, the mission is then withdrawn automatically. I did a test with my own miission.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
01-24-2011, 02:24 PM
It has always been my experience that Withdraw works immediately.

It is not intended to remove the mission from players who already have it. It is intended to prevent new users from acquiring it.

Are you all saying that this is NOT the current behavior? Thanks!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
01-24-2011, 02:27 PM
If only I could 'withdraw' any email I've ever sent...

Devs, if you can't make that happen then I'm gonna quit the game.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
01-24-2011, 02:39 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroniusRex
It has always been my experience that Withdraw works immediately.

It is not intended to remove the mission from players who already have it. It is intended to prevent new users from acquiring it.

Are you all saying that this is NOT the current behavior? Thanks!
I'm just saying that on the occasion I tried it, I clicked the withdraw button and nothing happened. Or at least nothing "appeared" to happen. i.e. the status of the mission remained "Publish Successful!" instead of immediately changing to "Not published".

I did notice that when I logged out and logged back in later it had changed to "Not published".

I haven't tried withdrawing my missions since then, so I don't know if it was a one-time random thing or occurs frequently.

On a side note, sometimes when I click the save button nothing happens either. I attempt to exit and then it tells me there are unsaved change that will be lost. I exit anyway and I think that when I log back in I find that it did indeed save OK, despite telling me it wouldn't. Seems to me like some buttons are just getting stuck and not showing your immediate state changes.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
01-24-2011, 06:56 PM
Galactrix, what you're describing sounds like lag between you and our servers.

If you can consistently make that happen, I'd love to know how.
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:59 PM.