Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
How on earth does one add a Transporter Pad to a map using Foundry? Is it even possible to make a transporter pad in Foundry?

Iíve been working on a mission in Foundry for quite some time, and I have it almost done except for one major flaw- one of the rooms desperately needs a proper transporter pad. Iíve looked all through the objects folder for either a transporter pad or something that looks remotely like one- to no success.
HELP!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
02-03-2011, 07:23 PM
I haven't seen one, although some cryptic interior maps have them....

The other option is using a building block platform, with a holding cell, can't remember the one that looks like the bottom, maybe holding cell 2?
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
02-03-2011, 07:52 PM
Check out my mission "No Peace More Action" for a demo.

The trick is that you make a station interior look like a Transporter Room on a ship. Chiron III interior is fairly easy because its Transporter area uses ship textures, mostly. Block off the station with a turbolift.

I also refit a generic bridge as the ready room of your ship, which I now gather other people have done.

If you want to be OCD and hide the rest of the minimap, Kirkfat has a tutorial which shows how to place platforms to black out parts of the minimap you want covered up.

There's a LOT you can do simply by disguising existing sets.

Currently, I'm using a DS9 interior map for the section of my mission which is set at the opening festivities of a diplomatic conference but I have an idea in mind to actually recreate the briefing room from DS9 with a redress of the promenade set, by adding walls and props and using the promenade windows with a table placed out front.

One of the best tricks you can learn, IMHO, is how to take a well defined existing asset and disguise it as something else with the use of props, walls, and windows. You can turn ESD, DS9, or Qo'noS into RADICALLY new sets for missions by covering up some logos, putting down walls, floors, and props, and using custom lighting.

Just think about it. Take ESD. It may take some work but you could go through covering up every trace of it being a Federation station and suddenly you have a pretty cool alien starbase.

It's how the folks who designed the shows did a lot of their special sets for episodes.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
02-03-2011, 08:01 PM
Thanks!
Problem is, I'm trying to make the Ops of a small Fedration starbase (I'm using a redressed starship bridge) and I'm trying to add an experimental transporter device to one corner.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
02-04-2011, 01:00 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by sm12905 View Post
Thanks!
Problem is, I'm trying to make the Ops of a small Fedration starbase (I'm using a redressed starship bridge) and I'm trying to add an experimental transporter device to one corner.
check out some of the containment devices. I berlieve there is one that wWith a little imagaination and creativity, I'm sure it would suit your purposes.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
02-04-2011, 01:32 AM
There is a holo podium or something that looks kinda, sorta like a transporter pad.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
02-04-2011, 07:50 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by soriedem View Post
check out some of the containment devices. I berlieve there is one that wWith a little imagaination and creativity, I'm sure it would suit your purposes.
I've already tried all of those. The problem is that a central part of the story involves the player actualy using that transporter, and all of the contanment devices are solid and can't be walked through to get onto the pad.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
02-04-2011, 07:55 AM
Really, your best option is to use an existing pad from one of the starbase maps, and block off the unneeded parts of the map. It's not a perfect solution, but it's likely the best solution.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 9
02-05-2011, 01:14 PM
I placed a building block 10x10x10, dropped it -9.5 on the Y axis, then used two lamps submerged into the block till just the rim was showing, then 2 klingon barrel S submerged in the middle of the two lamps. Looks transporter ish. Or you could completely submerge the lamp and using the light source, add more submerged klingon single barrels, making it look like more glowing transporter pads. I think the barrels as well as the lamps can be used as interactables.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/59164537@N05/5419644868/
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 10
02-05-2011, 02:32 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highbone
I placed a building block 10x10x10, dropped it -9.5 on the Y axis, then used two lamps submerged into the block till just the rim was showing, then 2 klingon barrel S submerged in the middle of the two lamps. Looks transporter ish. Or you could completely submerge the lamp and using the light source, add more submerged klingon single barrels, making it look like more glowing transporter pads. I think the barrels as well as the lamps can be used as interactables.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/59164537@N05/5419644868/
Neat!
/10chars
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:37 PM.