Go Back   Star Trek Online > Information and Discussion > Galactic News Network
Login

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 21
02-07-2011, 12:24 AM
thx for being honestly with us
i appreciated it
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 22
02-07-2011, 12:34 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by jewkesman View Post
I'm seeing it report that non game cryptic server responses at between 48 and 110 MS's and TTL ot ttl of 114
Dan left off the critical part of the instructions with those ping commands. You have to leave all three of them running while you are playing (the -t means to ping forever until you kill it) and then when you get an in-game network issue, check the three ping windows to see if any of them are getting timeouts at the same time. This is just an easy way to see if the problem is your network, your connection to the Cryptic data center, or your entire internet connection.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 23
02-07-2011, 03:32 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by dstahl View Post
ping -t 192.168.0.1 (to check that your connection to your own router is working)
It's also worth noting that this address may be different for different people (probably will). To see the address of "your own router", open a command prompt:

1. Click Start, All Programs, Accessories, Command Prompt (this is also something you need to do before starting the ping tests).

2. Type "ipconfig" without the quotataions and hit ENTER.

3. Note the address after the label "Default Gateway". If you have more than one of these, make note of which network adapter you are using. You probably are on a laptop and have both a wired and wireless connection. You may have to try both addresses to see which one your system is actually using, but the wired connection is usually preferred.

This address is your local router. The most common ones are 192.168.1.1, 192.168.1.254, 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.0.254. But it can be almost any address depending on your network configuration.

Good luck!

-Forjo
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 24
02-07-2011, 11:33 AM
Awesum, Dan!
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 25
02-07-2011, 05:24 PM
Problem seems to be fix if I turn on "US proxy" in the loader options.

Thanks,

Falconic
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 26
02-08-2011, 04:01 PM
closing thread now that additional hardware in place and we do not anticipate additional queues for the near future.

if you are still having technical issues, please refer to the tech help forums for additional assistance.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:21 PM.