Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 1 Branching Dialog issue...
03-03-2011, 08:54 AM
Now let me start off by saying I don't know if this is truly a bug or my ineptitude (probably the latter :p) but I have a problem trying to set up some dialog on my first UGC mission. I've searched here and the StarbaseUGC to find help with this, to no avail...

When I play the mission from the start, I have it set up so you start at ESD and go speak to someone to get your 'orders'. Now this person gives you 4 options to click on (mission reports), and another that will be the continue/exit dialog button. I have it set up so that once you read one of the 4 mission reports you click continue to go back to the original dialog so you can either select one of the other reports, re-read the one you just read or exit to carry on with the mission. The problem I have is that when I read one of the mission reports then click on continue, it pops up a blank box with continue at the bottom which, when clicked on, exits the whole dialog instead of going back to the original selections and skips onto the next dialog (beam to ship).

Now, if I play just the dialog on it's own (in the holodeck room) it works perfectly. Click option one, read the report, click continue and BOOM back at the original selection and I can now select the second and so on without exiting the original conversation first.

As I said I'm not sure if it really is a bug or just me doing something wrong but it seems odd to me how it works one way and not the other.

If it helps, the Project ID number is: ST-TF6L3T8SL

Thanks.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 2
03-03-2011, 06:34 PM
Hmm... interesting. Thanks for the project number. I've added it to my ever-growing list.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 3
03-04-2011, 08:45 AM
Thanks for noting the bug report Zero, I look forward to your findings. I do find it odd that no one else seems to have this error (at least no one posting here or anywhere else I can see)....oh and for 'odd' please read 'worrying', lol...

:p
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 4
03-05-2011, 07:07 PM
I have it as well.

It seems to only occur when you direct the end of a prompt to the first prompt in the dialog tree. If it's the second (ie. second level from the top in the tree) it works fine.

Also, it must be a Contact objective and not just a pop-up.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 5
03-05-2011, 10:20 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by enigma_xs View Post
Now let me start off by saying I don't know if this is truly a bug or my ineptitude (probably the latter :p) but I have a problem trying to set up some dialog on my first UGC mission. I've searched here and the StarbaseUGC to find help with this, to no avail...

When I play the mission from the start, I have it set up so you start at ESD and go speak to someone to get your 'orders'. Now this person gives you 4 options to click on (mission reports), and another that will be the continue/exit dialog button. I have it set up so that once you read one of the 4 mission reports you click continue to go back to the original dialog so you can either select one of the other reports, re-read the one you just read or exit to carry on with the mission. The problem I have is that when I read one of the mission reports then click on continue, it pops up a blank box with continue at the bottom which, when clicked on, exits the whole dialog instead of going back to the original selections and skips onto the next dialog (beam to ship).

Now, if I play just the dialog on it's own (in the holodeck room) it works perfectly. Click option one, read the report, click continue and BOOM back at the original selection and I can now select the second and so on without exiting the original conversation first.

As I said I'm not sure if it really is a bug or just me doing something wrong but it seems odd to me how it works one way and not the other.

If it helps, the Project ID number is: ST-TF6L3T8SL

Thanks.
Hmm... that empty black box was popping up during closed beta, but I'm not sure if it's related to what's happening to you. I just made a branching dialogue tutorial at sbugc. Part one may help you. If I'm understanding you correctly, then I did something similar to what you're trying to do with 'go back' and options.

One thing that might be causing it, is if you're linking back to the very first box. Try linking back to the second prompt and see if that works.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 6
03-05-2011, 10:22 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by LordDave View Post
I have it as well.

It seems to only occur when you direct the end of a prompt to the first prompt in the dialog tree. If it's the second (ie. second level from the top in the tree) it works fine.

Also, it must be a Contact objective and not just a pop-up.
Ah ok. LordDave is probably right here. For some reason, things sometimes get screwy if you try to make the first dialog box and buttons too complicated.
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 7
03-06-2011, 05:14 AM
Good advice guys, I'll try it out later and report back.

I did watch your tutorial when it was released Kirk, but it worked perfectly for you so I figured it was a problem elsewhere. What LordDave says makes sense though, so I have high hopes! lol.

:p
Lt. Commander
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 120
# 8
03-06-2011, 03:15 PM
Thanks guys, that worked. It seems a bit odd not to be able to point it to the first level, but it's only an extra dialog box so I think I can live with that.

Thanks again.

Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:54 PM.